Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: approx aperture in M9?

  1. #1
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    approx aperture in M9?

    What ever happened to that estimated apperture business where light was measured by the sensor behind the little window and compared to iso and speed to 'guess' the aperture?
    cant find it

    Victor

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    You mean it is not in the EXIF any more? Which tool are you using to look?

    Search for a thread on l-camera-forum by cbretteville. He analyzed it in some depth, and probably says where the field is.
    Carsten - Website

  3. #3
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    Vielen Dank..
    ich werde mal schauen

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kihei, Maui
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    I noticed also that the M9 approx exposure values don't show up in C1 even though my M8 ones do. I used Exiftools to read both M8 and M9 exif MakerNotes and although the M8 files contain ApproxFNumber the M9 files do not (although it contains lens info). Firmware 1.002

    Any reason why this should be?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    With LR3 the estimated aperture is visible.
    I guess that the information is available in the camera maker note but has to be decoded. LR3 does while C1 and LR2 don't.
    Cheers,
    Ario

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kihei, Maui
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    This doesn't explain why Exiftools can see the M8 file but nothing in the M9 file.

    Jan

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    Quote Originally Posted by JWW View Post
    This doesn't explain why Exiftools can see the M8 file but nothing in the M9 file.

    Jan
    Simply because ExifTool cannot decode the Camera Maker Note in the M9 file which is different from the M8 file.
    Cheers,
    Ario

  8. #8
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    Maybe the S2 will have real exif data.
    -bob

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: approx aperture in M9?

    The MakerNotes is a proper field in a DNG, but it is not meant to be read by anyone except... the camera maker We just want to read it anyway. Anyway, sure, the S2 will have complete knowledge of aperture etc.
    Carsten - Website

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •