Site Sponsors

Thread: Anybody still using the R system

Post Thanks / Like

Anybody still using the R system

Hi All,

I was just wondering how many active users are out there for the Leica R system? I also wanted to see what people thought of the following as a four lens kit:

2 x R9's
    24 2.8
    50 2.0
    80 1.4
    80-200 4

I might be bale to get a zoom not sure what the pick is between the 28-90 3.5-4.5 or the 35-90 f4?

Thanks for any help.

Regards

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Anybody still using the R system

The 80/14 is the jewel in the R lenses so that is almost mandatory.

I have no experience with the 24/2.8 but the 35/2.8 is a greatly underrated lens (at least if you look at the price for this lens second-hand)

I hav R8 and R9 but never use two cameras at the same time why the other is only backup.

You can have a look here for some inspiration on R system and lenses
    http://www.overgaard.dk/leica_digital_back_R.html

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by hobbsr View Post
    Hi All,

I was just wondering how many active users are out there for the Leica R system? I also wanted to see what people thought of the following as a four lens kit:

2 x R9's
    24 2.8
    50 2.0
    80 1.4
    80-200 4

I might be bale to get a zoom not sure what the pick is between the 28-90 3.5-4.5 or the 35-90 f4?

Thanks for any help.

Regards
    One of the disadvantages of the zooms are the darker viewfinder which makes focusing a bit more difficult.
    As far as I know the 28-90 should be better than the 35-70 plus it is a very usefull range.
    If I would go back to the R system and use it on full frame I would probably choose the following if it should be 4 lenses:

19mm
    28-90mm
    50/1.4 (or 90/2.0 or 80/1.4)
    and probably a 180mm prime.

Post Thanks / Like