Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Card Locked Error

  1. #1
    PaulMayeux
    Guest

    Card Locked Error

    Ok - is it time for a new SD card or is there some contacts in the camera that need to be cleaned? It takes like 4-5 tries taking the card out and reinserting it in order to get beyond that error. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Card Locked Error

    What name brand is it.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Card Locked Error

    I can't link to it here but there is a thread that was running yesterday on LUF about the same issue. Seems like some solved by blowing air into the card slot and getting that cleaned out. It is the same problem I've had.

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Card Locked Error

    Thanks Terry you can link between the sites BTW that is open now. Photo's , links and such. No issues between linking LUF and GetDpi all that good to go now.

    But worth trying that but anytime a card gives me trouble it winds up in the garbage . i take no chances with cards.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Card Locked Error

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Thanks Terry you can link between the sites BTW that is open now. Photo's , links and such. No issues between linking LUF and GetDpi all that good to go now.

    But worth trying that but anytime a card gives me trouble it winds up in the garbage . i take no chances with cards.
    LOL - when Mr. Jobs decides that cut and paste is useful on an iPhone it will be easy!

  6. #6
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Card Locked Error

    coming in the next firmware update version. LOL
    It would be a nice feature
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  7. #7
    PaulMayeux
    Guest

    Re: Card Locked Error

    Thanks guys (and Guy) - The card is a Sandisk Extreme II 2gb ( I have 3 cards) and they all seem to do it. I'll try blowing it out. I had wondered if it were that little locking switch on the side of the card bumping against something inside the camera. The switch seems a little on the loose side

    I'll look over on the "other site" and see what they have to say.

  8. #8
    PaulMayeux
    Guest

    Re: Card Locked Error

    OK - after reading the other thread - one thing to note, I have never formatted my cards on my pc.

    I'm with Guy - I'm going to blow the slot out and replace the cards.

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Card Locked Error

    Paul maybe the smart thing to do , just hate seeing anyone take a chance on a card that is giving them trouble. I'm just waiting on Leica to get us SDHC than will get all Hoodman Raw cards which are Professional grade

    here is what i am getting as soon as the firmware gives us SDHC

    http://www.hoodmanusa.com/products.asp?dept=1013
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    PaulMayeux
    Guest

    Re: Card Locked Error

    Update: tried the bulb blower on the card slot and everything works perfectly now.

  11. #11
    Senior Member irakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: Card Locked Error

    same thing happened to one of marc's m8s and a sandisk ultra II 2GB card. the card was fine in two other m8 bodies and two canon 1d markII and 1ds markIII bodies. extremely weird.

  12. #12
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Card Locked Error

    Happened to me today with a Transcend 150X 4GB card.

    There also seems to be a bug in the completion bar when deleting all photos. If you delete more than 255 photos the bar never moves, and if you delete more than 255 files (DNG+JPG) it never moves all the way across. Probably stops after 255 files (128 photos).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •