Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: can this be fixed

  1. #1
    Workshop Member kuau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Park City, UT
    Posts
    1,071
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    34

    can this be fixed

    I just went to print a 12x18 from one of my M9 files taken with a 50mm summicron, yikes horrible CA in the corners
    yuk... It looks crispy because this was the actual file I printed with print sharpening. I went back to the orginal DNG and it looks just as bad and I can't dial it out with ca removal. Is my 50 cron bad, or is this the way it is?
    Oh no
    The rest of the print looks amazing. ANyway to control ca when there are high contrast transistion?



    Steven
    Steven Kornreich
    www.kuau.com

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member Chuck Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Studio City, CA
    Posts
    700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: can this be fixed

    Steven, it is VERY difficult to fix something like this in post. Can be done, but it takes hours and then you have to ask yourself was it worth all that work at the end? Any chance of just going over and reshooting it?

    Selective color change, and pixel level editing is NO fun!

  3. #3
    Workshop Member kuau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Park City, UT
    Posts
    1,071
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    34

    Re: can this be fixed

    Chuck.
    I guess I wanted to make sure there is nothing wrong with my 50 cron I just purchased..
    I reprocessed the dng in Capture 1 using the auto ca analyze and clicked on purple fringing, looks 100 times better then anything I can get out of LR3.
    As much as i really like LR3, C1 to me out of the box does a better job on M9 files.
    Oh yeah reshooting it, I would have to wait 12 months, fall colors are gone now in Park City

    Steven

    Steven Kornreich
    www.kuau.com

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: can this be fixed

    Steven,

    It only takes a minute to remove the ca with Photoshop. Use hue/saturation layer, select the offending magenta color with the eyedroper, and reduce saturation. All fixed just that quickly!

    Dale

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Bill Caulfeild-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bruce Peninsula, Canada
    Posts
    2,535
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    184

    Re: can this be fixed

    [QUOTE=kuau;258603]Chuck.
    I guess I wanted to make sure there is nothing wrong with my 50 cron I just purchased..
    I reprocessed the dng in Capture 1 using the auto ca analyze and clicked on purple fringing, looks 100 times better then anything I can get out of LR3.
    As much as i really like LR3, C1 to me out of the box does a better job on M9 files.


    Steven

    I agree - LR is great for cataloguing but C1 is best for RAW conversion.
    Bil

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member Chuck Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Studio City, CA
    Posts
    700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: can this be fixed

    Interesting... I'm using Lightroom pretty successfully so far. I've got Aperture, and two different versions of C1 DB and Pro. Both old, and costs money to upgrade for what? Another RAW converter? Man, I get killed the way it is with upgrading Adobe and Apple every TWO versions, who's got the bucks to feed yet another upgrade demanding software franchise monster?

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: can this be fixed

    I was not a C1 fan until I needed to learn it for my back. I'm coming around to really liking it....and I am a diehard Lightroom user.

  8. #8
    Workshop Member kuau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Park City, UT
    Posts
    1,071
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    34

    Re: can this be fixed

    So I can sleep tonight, is my 50 cron ok? Is this normal for this lens when dealing with this kind of backlighting against branches and trees?
    I enjoy using C1, remember I won my copy on the GETDPI Norther AZ workshop last year.
    Steven Kornreich
    www.kuau.com

  9. #9
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: can this be fixed

    Do you keep a UV filter on the lens?

  10. #10
    Workshop Member kuau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Park City, UT
    Posts
    1,071
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    34

    Re: can this be fixed

    no filter
    Steven Kornreich
    www.kuau.com

  11. #11
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: can this be fixed

    Quote Originally Posted by kuau View Post
    So I can sleep tonight, is my 50 cron ok? Is this normal for this lens when dealing with this kind of backlighting against branches and trees?
    I enjoy using C1, remember I won my copy on the GETDPI Norther AZ workshop last year.
    Isn't this purple fringing, a function of the sensor/microlenses, made worse by blooming? When I look at the crop example, it doesn't look like lens CA to me. I think your Summicron is not to blame.

  12. #12
    Subscriber Member Chuck Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Studio City, CA
    Posts
    700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: can this be fixed

    I agree, the problem is the original exposure from looking at it. Shooting backlit subjects, dial it back by -1 stop as a start, and more if needed. Same with shooting on snow, -1 at least is mandatory with most camera meters if you want to preserve highlights & detail.

  13. #13
    Workshop Member kuau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Park City, UT
    Posts
    1,071
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    34

    Re: can this be fixed

    Thanks everyone, yep probably over exposed by a stop, pilot error,
    I need to stop thinking ETTR with the M9.

    Steven
    Steven Kornreich
    www.kuau.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •