Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: what lens setting for summaron 35?

  1. #1
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    what lens setting for summaron 35?

    In manual mode my old, goggled, Summaron 35/2.8 is not listed. What is the best setting on the M9 for this lens?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,995
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    Quote Originally Posted by danlindberg View Post
    In manual mode my old, goggled, Summaron 35/2.8 is not listed. What is the best setting on the M9 for this lens?
    Thanks
    Hi Dan,

    Can't say what the best setting is, intuatively I set my non-goggled summaron 35/2.8 as a non-asph summicron '35 f/2 11310/11311'. It seems to work fine.

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  3. #3
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    I'll try that one then
    But I suppose it is not as-good-as-it-gets since it clearly is a setting for another lens.

    Thanks Knorp!

  4. #4
    Eisemann
    Guest

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    I have used the coding for the Summarit M 35 f/2.5. Works well. 101011

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    ashwinrao1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA - USA
    Posts
    3,276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    Agreed...summarit code works well for me...suspect that the summicron pre-asph code would do well as well...
    Ashwin Rao
    Seattle, WA
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,995
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    True ... on paper the 2.5 summarit matches the 2.8 summaron best, but like the summaron the summarit isn't in the menu either and honestly I can't be bothered anymore going the sharpie route.
    So the non-asph summicron will do just fine for me ...

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  7. #7
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    Unfortunately I did not have time to try it today, but I had a look in the menu right now and the summarit 2.5 is not there? I have 1.4 and 2.0 in non-asph and asph. But no 2.5. Is this correct?

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,995
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    Quote Originally Posted by danlindberg View Post
    Unfortunately I did not have time to try it today, but I had a look in the menu right now and the summarit 2.5 is not there? I have 1.4 and 2.0 in non-asph and asph. But no 2.5. Is this correct?
    Sorry Dan, there are no summarits in the menu as they all came 6-bit coded. Ashwin and Eisemann are referring to hand-coding the lens, f.i. with a marker (e.g sharpie).
    Don't worry about it, IMO the non-asph summicron option really works fine. Of course you'd rather have the proper lens information in the exif-data, but most importantly you wouldn't like to have a color cast in your images

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  9. #9
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: what lens setting for summaron 35?

    Wow....I'm pretty amazed of what a very old lens can produce! I have only shot one image in my livingroom to try it out, but felt I must share with you. I believe my lens is made -59.

    I actually left lens detection on automatic. Put the camera on a tripod, selftimer, 160iso, 2 sec exposure, f8. In raw only white balance fix, no sharpening at all....



    A 100% crop. Note that there is no (nothing at all) CA to be found even if provoked with backlit leaves and windows edges. This totally blows me away!

    The focus is set on the bowl in front, but at f8 I can not even tell looking at the bowl or the leaves.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •