Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: MacBook Air

  1. #1
    Jeff Day
    Guest

    MacBook Air

    Has anyone tried downloading M9 files to the new MacBook Air? I'm curious how well it works for the M9's dng files, as it is based on similar tech to the iPad, which I bought and found to work well with the M9 at all.

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: MacBook Air

    The Mac Book Air is not running the same operating system as the iPad so your M9 files should be fine and you can use regular image processing software.

  3. #3
    Member dannh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    140
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    I've used both and they both work well. I normally use compressed files though. The 13" felt just like any other MacBook in terms of speed. The 11" wasn't quite as snappy, but certainly will do the job if you're on the road, and the portability of it is just outstanding.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    ashwinrao1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA - USA
    Posts
    3,276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    I just got a fully loaded 11 inch air, and man, is it sweet. Only issue that I see is screen real estate, but it is certainly fast enough (compared to my 2007 MBP with core 2 duo and 2 gigs of RAM, the MBA is quite a bit faster)...and handles LR3/M9 files very well...
    Ashwin Rao
    Seattle, WA
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    belgļe
    Posts
    1,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: MacBook Air

    i did M9 DNG (uncompressed) in C1 and then CS3 for play -- all on the old MBA.

    it *almost* got my Air in a tizzy, but it survived... if the old one can do it, the new one will have no problem. i definitely recommend upping it to 4GB RAM, though.

  6. #6
    Jeff Day
    Guest

    Re: MacBook Air

    Thanks everyone for the feedback on the Air, very much appreciated.

    Best,

    Jeff

  7. #7
    Member halfFrame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    ashwin, Can you see the entire LRoom/Aperture window on the 11" or would you go up to the 13".

    thanks

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    ashwinrao1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA - USA
    Posts
    3,276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Hi! You can see the entire LR3 window, but it's scaled down to size. Images are thus smaller than I'd like, so if you don't mind the size of the 13 inch MBA, I'd go with that for more screen real estate.

    However, for me, portability is paramount for the MBA, and I went with the 11 inch version. I can work all of my files to satisfaction using LR3 and Nik, and while it feels a bit cramped, I prefer the size to performance ratio of the 11 inch.

    Hope that helps!
    Ashwin Rao
    Seattle, WA
    My Photography

  9. #9
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    My wife got the 11" for work - she's a writer and carries a laptop everywhere. I haven't tried LR3 on it (need to check the license before installing) but it seems fast enough that I think it should be fine in a pinch. It runs MS Office and Photoshop CS4 without any trouble. It's obviously not an everyday tool like a 15" MBP, but seems perfect for light travel and backing up SD cards while on the road.

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    5,672
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    I picked up a 13", 256gb, 4mb, MacBook Air, a few days ago. I have it with me now on a trip. LR3, Lightzone, and Nik's Complete Software Suite are loaded in. It works quite well enough for post-processing tasks and downloading images and converting to DNG.

    I'll probably sell my 15" MacBook Pro and get a second 17" MacBook Pro. The Air is up to replacing the 15" in everything except screen size. Certainly in terms of it's form factor, it makes the 15" seem like a load of bricks. Highly recommended by me!

    Cheers,

    Matt

    http://mdriscoll.zenfolio.com

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    ashwinrao1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA - USA
    Posts
    3,276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Congrats, Matt. I was tempted by the 13 inch MBP, due to faster processor, more hard drive, etc, but went for the smaller size....I have been satisified with mine as well for basic tasks in LR3 as well as some external editing. CS5 and Nik load FAST!
    Ashwin Rao
    Seattle, WA
    My Photography

  12. #12
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    5,672
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Quote Originally Posted by m_driscoll View Post
    I picked up a 13", 256gb, 4mb, MacBook Air, a few days ago. I have it with me now on a trip. LR3, Lightzone, and Nik's Complete Software Suite are loaded in. It works quite well enough for post-processing tasks and downloading images and converting to DNG.

    I'll probably sell my 15" MacBook Pro and get a second 17" MacBook Pro. The Air is up to replacing the 15" in everything except screen size. Certainly in terms of it's form factor, it makes the 15" seem like a load of bricks. Highly recommended by me!

    Cheers,

    Matt

    http://mdriscoll.zenfolio.com
    oops! 4gb; not 4mb.

    Ashwin: I'm definitely pleased with it.

    Cheers, Matt

  13. #13
    Workshop Member Woody Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    66

    Re: MacBook Air

    Has anyone tried it with PS or with one of the stitching packages (autopano or PTGui). If it packs enough power for these I could be sold on it as a major weight saver.

    How about C1 or Phocus? Actually I should ask in the MF forum, and will do so.

  14. #14
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Runs C1 Pro 5.2.1 just fine.

    Still trying to figure out the LR3 license... apparently I can install it on a laptop or "home computer" at my residence in addition to work. But I only have it on my MBP and don't use it for work - does that mean it hasn't been installed on a primary computer? Am I required to? Can I install it on the MBA as a laptop if I fudge the facts and call the MBP a primary computer? Or do I need to uninstall it first? Can the license even be transfered from one primary computer (which it really isn't installed on yet) to another? From one laptop to another? Do I need to obtain written approval from Adobe - is email sufficient or do I need certified mail? Fortunately, CA is a community property state, so my wife's MBA is mine as well or I wouldn't be able to use my (our) license. The license clearly doesn't permit multiple laptops...

  15. #15
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: MacBook Air

    I'm sold too (4gb 256 gb 2.13ghz).
    I've been running two versions of windows (7 and XP) plus Aperture - this is something which used to grind down my 17" until I put an SSD and 8gb into it.
    The MBA is quite useable, and running Aperture / PS / Nik without VMware it's great.
    Definitely up with our year old 15", and of course, the resolution is the same (just need to get a bit closer).
    lovely to travel with (I've done two trips now).

    Just this guy you know

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    14

    Re: MacBook Air

    Quote Originally Posted by Jan Brittenson View Post
    Can I install it on the MBA as a laptop if I fudge the facts and call the MBP a primary computer?
    That is my interpretation, and I don't think you have to "fudge" anything. The MBP is the primary and your MBA is the portable. I don't see anything that specifies what type of computer the primary should be. Just that the secondary should be either a portable computer or a "home" computer if the primary is a "work" computer.

    The intent seems to be that the program is licensed for use on one computer at at time, so as long as your wife doesn't use the MBP copy while you are using the MBA one I think you adhere to the license.

    -Thomas

  17. #17
    Subscriber Member weinschela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York suburb
    Posts
    458
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Jan:

    Here is a quote I found, which confirms what Thomas has said. One user can run the program on any two machines. To maintain thread integrity, I am using a new Macbook Air 13 with 4G and 2.13 processor and it is up to almost any task you'd like. If you need to run Windoze, it runs it under Parallels 6 as well or better than a native Win machine (just make sure you have the 4G) It is very impressive.

    How many computers are covered by a single license of Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3?

    Subject to the terms of the software license agreement, the primary user of the computer on which Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 is installed may install a second copy of the software for his or her exclusive use on either a portable computer or a computer located at his or her home, provided that the software on the second computer is not used at the same time as the software on the primary computer. Lightroom is sold as multiplatform software, which means it can be installed on either Mac OS X or Windows.
    Alan

    Selection of work: http://weinschela.zenfolio.com

  18. #18
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: MacBook Air

    I think the proof of the pudding here, is that I find myself using the MBA 13" when I have a perfectly good 17" MBP sitting on the same desk (or a 27" imac in the next room).

    Just this guy you know

  19. #19
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    5,672
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Quote Originally Posted by jonoslack View Post
    I think the proof of the pudding here, is that I find myself using the MBA 13" when I have a perfectly good 17" MBP sitting on the same desk (or a 27" imac in the next room).
    I'd second that! Anybody want to buy a "minty" 15" MBP?

    Cheers, Matt

    http://mdriscoll.zenfolio.com

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: MacBook Air

    I was about 30 seconds away from hitting the buy button last Friday...It truly was an indulgence (something I'm good at) to keep downstairs and replace an aging black macbook. It didn't need to do much more than internet and email. In a rare bit of frugality I resusitated the old MacBook completely cleaning out the hard drive and deleted other old unwanted applications. Ohhh what a difference it made.

    If the MBA had come with an embedded 3G chip with a pricing plan like the iPad I am sure I would already own one. Once you have the instant always connected iPad it is really hard to give that up. Without that the MBA is more "stay at home" than always with me.

  21. #21
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: MacBook Air

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post

    If the MBA had come with an embedded 3G chip with a pricing plan like the iPad I am sure I would already own one. Once you have the instant always connected iPad it is really hard to give that up. Without that the MBA is more "stay at home" than always with me.
    Once Apple have sorted a way to use the iPAD outside your home country I might agree. Instant, always connected starts to sound like a bitter joke outside the UK.
    I wouldn't mind paying - it simply doesn't work grrrrr
    I've done trips to Holland, Belgium, Italy and France in the last month, and the iPAD has been useless each time . .. . and if you have to find wireless then the MBA is just fine!

    Just this guy you know

  22. #22
    Senior Member bradhusick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    2,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    53

    Re: MacBook Air

    Maybe this is a good case for a mifi unit sold by Verizon, Sprint and maybe others. Verizon just announced a "4G" network with dongles.

  23. #23
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: MacBook Air

    Quote Originally Posted by bradhusick View Post
    Maybe this is a good case for a mifi unit sold by Verizon, Sprint and maybe others. Verizon just announced a "4G" network with dongles.
    . . . . and it works whichever country you happen to be in at the time?

    Just this guy you know

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    236
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Air

    Quote Originally Posted by m_driscoll View Post
    oops! 4gb; not 4mb.

    Cheers, Matt
    This reminds me of the early 1990s when I had a Mac SE with 2mb of RAM--if I recall correctly. ("Times, they be a changin.")

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •