Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    106
    Post Thanks / Like

    DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    OK Folks, need some help from the DMR experts here:

    My kit is coming together, have now DMR and R9;
    looks and feels great.
    First lens (60mm macro) should arrive on Wed.

    I need to do the focus screen swap; the manual and pictures in there are not totally clear. Questions:

    a) Manual says you should pull down the installed focus screen with the supplied tweezers; from what I can see, a focus screen has 2 plastic tabs on the front edge, inside the camera there is also a rectangular metal frame (with a cutout; probably what the manual calls the "latch"); which part of the existing setup am I supposed to grab with the tweezers to pull it down? I gues sthe rectangular metal frame in the middle of the unit -?

    b) Looks like you grab the larger tab of the focusing screen (the right one when it is inside the camera) to handle it with the tweezers -?

    c) Besides not touching, scratching focus sreens and mirror, anything else to watch for?

    Thank You!
    Peter

  2. #2
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    Peter:

    The frame and screen will fall down when you unlatch it using the tip of the supplied tool. You then take the screen out of the frame by using the tool on the larger tab.

    When you put the new screen in, make sure it is in the frame all the way and then using the tip of the tool, press the frame back into place until you hear or feel the latch click.

    Robert

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    Quote Originally Posted by robsteve View Post
    Peter:

    The frame and screen will fall down when you unlatch it using the tip of the supplied tool. You then take the screen out of the frame by using the tool on the larger tab.

    When you put the new screen in, make sure it is in the frame all the way and then using the tip of the tool, press the frame back into place until you hear or feel the latch click.

    Robert
    Thanks Robert, that is re-ensuring and helps.
    Peter

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    N.S. Canada
    Posts
    2,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    Is a very simple process - only risk is scratching screen. Stick to using the supplied tool only and have a clean cloth, etc handy to put old screen on during swap.

    Saw your new post - glad you like the new kit.

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    Peter you don't have to go too far with sharpening the DMR. Pretty good right out of the can and also C1 is a damn nice program for it. If anything the DMR is a touch on the warm side but that is why I liked it.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    The case for the screen has a slot to put the old screen in vertically while getting the new screen out of the case. I think it is illustrated in the instructions. Saves you from finding a place to put the old screen and keeps it clean.

    Robert

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    N.S. Canada
    Posts
    2,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    There ya go.

    Been awhile since I changed the screen in my now (sniff) gone R8 so can't recall what the screen kit looks like; but the process with a Canon is virtually identical.

    That said, the Canon screen kit includes a cardboard landing pad for the old screen that I never trusted to be grit-free.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    Its all working now, thanks, Robert and Guy.

    Since digital is so sensitive to the flange-sensor distance, I am surprised that the "clip-on digital back" approach mechanically is accurate enough for sharp focus.

    I think distances must be right to 1/100th of a millimeter or so. Amazing that this can work with the DMR, or say the Aptus on a 503cw.

    Peter

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap

    Quote Originally Posted by psorantin View Post
    Its all working now, thanks, Robert and Guy.

    Since digital is so sensitive to the flange-sensor distance, I am surprised that the "clip-on digital back" approach mechanically is accurate enough for sharp focus.

    I think distances must be right to 1/100th of a millimeter or so. Amazing that this can work with the DMR, or say the Aptus on a 503cw.

    Peter
    I think there were quit some people who had some slight focus issues with DMRs. There are some shims offered (to shim the screen) I think by brightsceen to compensate for this.
    By the way-I still have some DMR equipment (magnifier and some screens). email me if you are interested.
    CHeers, Tom

  10. #10
    roberth
    Guest

    Re: DMR Setup - Question regarding Focus Screen Swap


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •