Site Sponsors

Thread: Where do you go to find those rare, hard-to-find Leica M lenses?

edhohoho

Where do you go to find those rare, hard-to-find Leica M lenses?

Hi,

I am an amateur and newbie to rangefinders but am really enjoying the use of my rangefinder camera and have recently been interested in some lenses that are no longer in production. Specifically, I am looking for the Leica 50/1.4 Summilux-M pre-ASPH E46 and Leica 35/1.4 Summilux-M pre-ASPH in mint condition with original packaging and accessories. I have been trying to find them on the usual places like eBay, rangefinder forums, and some online stores but with no luck.

Do you have any recommendations on other places or people I can try? Is it just a matter of timing? I'd be interested in tips that collectors might have. Although I am by no means a collector, I appreciate having things like lenses in nice condition because they are so expensive as it is and I like to use them while at the same time take good care of them.

I'm located in the US, so I would prefer to deal domestically although I am certainly open to reputable sources abroad.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and recommendations.

Sincerely,

Edmund

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Where do you go to find those rare, hard-to-find Leica M lenses?

Unless you are a collector and want to pay collector prices, I would forget about the box, papers, case. I have not gotten one of my vintage lenses with all of the above. I have been lucky to find a couple of lenses in excellent condition and a couple of mine are users with good glass. I always try to find one with caps included. I think you might be missing out on some very nice opportunities by requiring the box, papers, case...those things tend to be not so important to some people along the way.
    Some of the usual places to look are Camerawest, Adorama, KEH, Kurlandphoto, PhotoVillage, Ebay and Rangefinderforum. It takes patience.

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Edmund: