Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: M9 and a summaron 35?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    M9 and a summaron 35?

    Just bought a Summaron 35 2.5 and am going to use it on a M9...has anyone used it before? Any advice or input please?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    sorry...F2.8

  3. #3
    Seafurydriver
    Guest

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    I mainly use this lens on my M2, but I have mounted it on my M9 from time to time. It has a classical rendering, albeit a little soft at the edges, especially wide open, compared to modern Summicron and Summilux ASPH lenses.

    It would not be my first choice to pair with an M9, but there is no reason you cannot get some very nice images with this combination.

    Stephen

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    60
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Based on what I've seen of my LTM Summaron (which was just tidied up for the first time in decades) you can expect lower-than-modern contrast in full light, and halation if there are truly highlighted bits.

    Which might lend itself very well to some black and white conversions...actually.

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    ashwinrao1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA - USA
    Posts
    3,276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    I personally feel that the M9/Summaron 35 mm f/2.8 is a fantastic combo for one striving for a classic look, lower macrocontrast, and very high performing in the microcontrast department, especially if stopped down a smidge...However, it's fully capable of gorgeous results wide open and works very well as a daylight/midday lens, especially for B&W, as sirimiri stated above
    Ashwin Rao
    Seattle, WA
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    449
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    I would have thought it a great combination. I like lower contrast lenses (you can always add contrast, its more difficult taking it away), and it may give a bit more dynamic range to your M9's sensor. I often use a Summitar on my M9and the colours and rendering are wonderful.

    Steve

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Thanks all. Does anyone know which lens to code it in as? Don't want to do the sharpie thing...

  8. #8
    Subscriber Member Chuck Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Studio City, CA
    Posts
    700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    My advice? Leave the coding off. Your shooting a classic lens, for the classic look. You need to ask yourself "Do you REALLY want a computer adjustment that will change that great classic character?" I don't, but it's a personal choice...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Thx. Any drawback by not coding it in?

  10. #10
    Subscriber Member Chuck Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Studio City, CA
    Posts
    700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    For a 35mm, not many that I can think of. Most of the coding applies to lens corrections for color shifts across the frame or CA correction in camera that I have seen. Neither of which you should be concerned with. I doubt highly that software based corrections for more modern lens designs would be all that effective in your case in the first place, and could likely have just the opposite effect - they may just degrade your file further. In my experience, pretty much anything going on in software in camera can be done just as effectively or better in post processing yourself using Photoshop or your choice of RAW processor. You've also got a lot more choices, since the CPU in your computer is far more powerful than what you'll find in any camera body.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Thx. I guess no coding it is!

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    449
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    To code or not to code, that is the question.

    What you have to remember is that the M9's sensor does not record the image the same way that film does. Hence the red edge problem with very wide lenses, and vignetting on wide lenses. So I appreciate the sentiment that you should go for the classic look of the lens. But the coding is there to adjust the software and neutralise the characteristic's of the sensor, not to modify the lenses characteristics.

    So if you find you get vignetting etc, try coding it. First manually, experiment with the codes available.

    As to the practicalities of having automatic recognition, firstly you have to make sure there isn't a screw where the code would be. Secondly the M9 doesn't like sharpies as much as the M8 does, it tends to need a much denser black mark for the code. Paint will wear off, as will a Sharpie after a few uses. So you are left with a Dremel to engrave some marks on the lens flange. This is easy enough, and you can make your own lens coder to position the marks (test with paint or sharpie first). Try here

    http://bophoto.typepad.com/bophoto/2...-m-lenses.html

    Steve

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    GTA, Canada
    Posts
    587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    I have both M9 and 35 2.8 summaron.. I found no need for coding.
    Scott

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Thx all.
    @Scott : how do your color pics come out? I know b&w on this lens is great. I'm not planning on coding but I was wondering if u manually enter it as a different 35 on the M9? I read in one of the forums that one should enter it as a 35 Summicron. Does that help any?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Or a 35 Summarit ?

  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M9 and a summaron 35?

    Quote Originally Posted by Moonshine View Post
    Or a 35 Summarit ?
    The 35 Summarit is a good lens, I shoot it and love it. However I find portraits with it too clinical, too sharp and want some micro contrast in exchange for the razor sharpness.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •