The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

M9 and lenses guilt!

Moonshine

When I read this forum I realize the majority of folks who have the M digital system are accomplished photographers that generate income via this hobby too. I'm a novice who is still learning about photography and often feel that it's such an expensive hobby (I'm not super rich by any means) to invest so much in and not make a dime from it.
Sometimes I think sell it all and get a micro 4/3 system instead. Any thoughts or advice?
Any one else who just has a M9 and Leica lenses just as a hobby?

dannh

Often I've thought that there are more hobbyists with M9s that pro's. Maybe because pro photographers don't always make the big bucks. Maybe because not many pros can make a living with an M9. For whatever reason, there aren't all that many pros using M9's, but there are many many other people, call them hobbyists if you want, using M9s.

250swb

I think you are denegrating the idea of 'hobby'. Some people work hard at terrible jobs just so they can fund their hobby whether it is mountaineering or photography,... or golf :)rolleyes:).

Hobbiests do not have to be any less serious than somebody who does the activity for a living, in fact they can often exceed a professional because they don't have the same constraints of earning money from it. So enjoy your M9, you earned it as much as any pro.

Steve

iiiNelson