Site Sponsors

Thread: M9 and lenses guilt!

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

M9 and lenses guilt!

When I read this forum I realize the majority of folks who have the M digital system are accomplished photographers that generate income via this hobby too. I'm a novice who is still learning about photography and often feel that it's such an expensive hobby (I'm not super rich by any means) to invest so much in and not make a dime from it.
    Sometimes I think sell it all and get a micro 4/3 system instead. Any thoughts or advice?
    Any one else who just has a M9 and Leica lenses just as a hobby?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: M9 and lenses guilt!

Often I've thought that there are more hobbyists with M9s that pro's. Maybe because pro photographers don't always make the big bucks. Maybe because not many pros can make a living with an M9. For whatever reason, there aren't all that many pros using M9's, but there are many many other people, call them hobbyists if you want, using M9s.

Post Thanks / Like

Hobbies can be more important in your life than your job

Post Thanks / Like

I think you are denegrating the idea of 'hobby'. Some people work hard at terrible jobs just so they can fund their hobby whether it is mountaineering or photography,... or golf ().

Hobbiests do not have to be any less serious than somebody who does the activity for a living, in fact they can often exceed a professional because they don't have the same constraints of earning money from it. So enjoy your M9, you earned it as much as any pro.

Steve

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm a hobbyist, M9-P owner, and I agree. Buy what you like and can afford. Consequently I own a Micro 4/3 and Sony NEX-5 as well. I prefer the lenses for Micro 4/3. Sony give better low light performance. I would choose neither over the M9. They're in 2 different leagues altogether but that's not to say you can't take great pictures with the others because I've taken some of my favorites with the G1.