Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 42 of 42

Thread: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

  1. #1
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    What can I say other than I am impressed!

    I shot the images below in my office right after loading the firmware and setting all my preferences. I find 1250 excellent now, at least when processed in C1. Note that the key here is processing in C1 --- for whatever reason, LR, ACR or Aperture do not appear to handle the noise any better than the they did with the previous firmware. But it is so good now with C1, my new normal preference setting for the M8 is Auto ISO with a 1250 max and 1/30 shutter min. (This is cool in that if you need more, the camera dips below 1/30th and the shutter speed blinks to alert you --- PERFECT set up for the way I shoot when in aperture preferred mode.)

    But of course i wanted to see how well 2500 could perform, so I shot a quick snap. The first is the full frame for reference, the next crop is straight out of C1 with NR set to Lum 20, Color 70, the last is that file run through DFine on auto. Note the shadow area in the dark part of the bookcase:









    Obviously I need to more testing in a variety of lighting, but I must say this looks *very* promising to me. If I can get a usable ISO 2500 out of my M8 like this, then I may not have any need or a DSLR --- Way cool!

    ,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  2. #2
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Hey Jack,
    That looks encouraging,
    Did you try the same shot in the same lighting conditions and processing with a non-upgraded camera?
    thanks
    -bob

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Looking good partner.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    Hey Jack,
    That looks encouraging,
    Did you try the same shot in the same lighting conditions and processing with a non-upgraded camera?
    thanks
    -bob
    Of course not. Only thought of it AFTER I had already loaded 2.0...

    But I will say it is incredibly encouraging. I am going to do some "available darkness" shooting tonight and will report back tomorrow. Seriously, this firmware is such a huge improvement that I am really excited over the possibility I will not need to add a "high ISO" DSLR back into my gear cabinet!
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Excellent! It's great to hear some positive reactions to the big L's evolution. I really don't want to buy a DSLR. Every reason not to invest in a new Nikon makes it easier to bank for an entirely different system... like MF.

  6. #6
    Workshop Member ChrisDauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    264
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    82

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Excellent to hear! Since enough people are raving about the new firmware, I think I'll be downloading it tonight!

    -C

  7. #7
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    My only advice is to do one body at a time, then launch it and set up all your new settings and make sure it actually works before loading up your second body --- just in case.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Jack,
    I have exactly the same experience.
    I now have two different configurations of the AUTO ISO saved as 2 of the 3 user profiles and find that this works perfectly well, one with shutter speed lens dependent and one with a max 2500 ISO and 1/125. Your combination seems good for my third user profile.
    I removed Dfine from my intel Mac because I had to run CS3 in rosetta to use it, but looking at your crops it seems to handle the M8 files better than other alternatives.
    Maurice

  9. #9
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Good point Maurice. I am thinking my high ISO set-up will be like yours, 60 or 125/2500 to force 2500 sooner, but maybe add the raw + B&W jpeg option for my low-light B&W mode
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    What can I say other than I am impressed!

    I shot the images below in my office right after loading the firmware and setting all my preferences. I find 1250 excellent now, at least when processed in C1. Note that the key here is processing in C1 --- for whatever reason, LR, ACR or Aperture do not appear to handle the noise any better than the they did with the previous firmware. But it is so good now with C1, my new normal preference setting for the M8 is Auto ISO with a 1250 max and 1/30 shutter min. (This is cool in that if you need more, the camera dips below 1/30th and the shutter speed blinks to alert you --- PERFECT set up for the way I shoot when in aperture preferred mode.)

    But of course i wanted to see how well 2500 could perform, so I shot a quick snap. The first is the full frame for reference, the next crop is straight out of C1 with NR set to Lum 20, Color 70, the last is that file run through DFine on auto. Note the shadow area in the dark part of the bookcase:









    Obviously I need to more testing in a variety of lighting, but I must say this looks *very* promising to me. If I can get a usable ISO 2500 out of my M8 like this, then I may not have any need or a DSLR --- Way cool!

    ,
    Hey Jack

    Is that a Vida Blue baseball in the case? Awesome

    Woody

  11. #11
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by woodyspedden View Post
    Hey Jack

    Is that a Vida Blue baseball in the case? Awesome

    Woody
    It sure is Woody!

    ,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  12. #12
    Subscriber Member Chuck Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Studio City, CA
    Posts
    700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    It sure is Woody!

    ,
    Sheesh. And I was going to ask him where he got the Burro!

  13. #13
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Chuck: It's a long story on the burrow, will fill you in over a few shots of tequila next time we're together
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Jack,
    Thanks to your post I logged in to NIK software, upgraded to Dfine 2 (aperture and cs3) and find this to be a wonderful and flexible noise reduction program.
    Thanks again
    Maurice

  15. #15
    35mmSummicron
    Guest

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Jack,

    I would be interested to see your experiences shooting the new FW in darker lighting conditions.

    to me it seems that 1250ISO is acceptable as long as lighting is good. But shadows and darker tones are VERY noisy (hence, shooting in the dark), to the point where I do not see any difference from previous firmware.

    I am a longtime C1 user dating back to their original LightPhase 6mp back, and have had an M8 for 2 years. I long for better high ISO performence from the M8, but with respect, I'm not totally convinced this new FW is offering it.

    andy

  16. #16
    Senior Member Riley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide Hills South Australia
    Posts
    441
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    gotta say that looks ok
    ive watched M8 improve now for some years, and its very pleasing to see it come up on-song in iso performance. I would suspect that shooting to the right would probably help somewhat, and where M8 may have the capacity to cope with that pretty well.

    I know by my E3, that underexposing/shooting to the left is going to accelerate the amount of noise i have to deal with, but unfortunately the DR curve isnt so helpful, in that it will easily blow the highlights in unevenly lit scenes. if M8 has more latitude in these circumstances, brother you have it made...

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by archiM44 View Post
    Jack,
    I have exactly the same experience.
    I now have two different configurations of the AUTO ISO saved as 2 of the 3 user profiles and find that this works perfectly well, one with shutter speed lens dependent and one with a max 2500 ISO and 1/125. Your combination seems good for my third user profile.
    I removed Dfine from my intel Mac because I had to run CS3 in rosetta to use it, but looking at your crops it seems to handle the M8 files better than other alternatives.
    Maurice
    Dfine is now available as an Aperture plug-in, Maurice. BTW, I was doing some High ISO tests myself and found that Bibble Pro 4 does a kickass job as well with the new firmware. Will post some samples tonight.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    457
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by 35mmSummicron View Post
    Jack,

    I would be interested to see your experiences shooting the new FW in darker lighting conditions.

    to me it seems that 1250ISO is acceptable as long as lighting is good. But shadows and darker tones are VERY noisy (hence, shooting in the dark), to the point where I do not see any difference from previous firmware.

    I am a longtime C1 user dating back to their original LightPhase 6mp back, and have had an M8 for 2 years. I long for better high ISO performence from the M8, but with respect, I'm not totally convinced this new FW is offering it.

    andy
    I agree it is an EV thing. 1250 is great at higher EV's, (try it in daylight, nice texture) there is a point going down where it is not so great. Even if we are talking about "good" exposures, ie; in a dark room with bright areas, you can have a "good" exposure in the light but the rest of the picture will exhibit banding (2500 mostly) and noise. I get these blue flecks which are very hard to deal with, except obviously in bw.

    you could fashion a test to figure this out. it is simply at a certain point the signal to noise ratio is such that the noise is apparent. The example here looks acceptable in the shadow of the bookcase, but the EV overall is still high (2500 1/125 5.6 is just 320 1/60 2.8, not exactly available darkness) in comparison to where we usually break out the 1250.

    ...just sayin...

    but C1 is really the only way to go here, Lr can't match this.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by etrigan63 View Post
    Dfine is now available as an Aperture plug-in, Maurice. BTW, I was doing some High ISO tests myself and found that Bibble Pro 4 does a kickass job as well with the new firmware. Will post some samples tonight.
    Carlos

    As I am sure you already know, Bibble is releasing version 5 of Bibble Pro in October. They really do make a wonderful converter. Wish they would support medium format files as well.

    Woody

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Looked good in my nicely lit studio also. Didn't look so good at a wedding I shot in low light. D700 kicked it's ***. : -(

  21. #21
    Senior Member irakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    i took a few shots at iso2500 and 1250 after upgrading. anything below 1/15 sec is not commercially usable, especially 2500.
    iso640 remains to be a B&W sweet spot, though.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    Looked good in my nicely lit studio also. Didn't look so good at a wedding I shot in low light. D700 kicked it's ***. : -(
    Not too surprising IMHO. The D700 (and of course the D3) just kick *** in terms of low light high ISO performance. I don't shoot weddings (thank God as my fragile state of mind could probably not deal with it LOL!) but if I did I would thank the Lord for the D700. What a great machine.

    Best to all

    Woody

  23. #23
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by woodyspedden View Post
    Carlos

    As I am sure you already know, Bibble is releasing version 5 of Bibble Pro in October. They really do make a wonderful converter. Wish they would support medium format files as well.

    Woody
    Yes, I am eagerly awaiting to get my upgrade. Here is that ISO 1250 sample I promised from the Open House.

    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  24. #24
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Kicks *** is relative. IMO the D3/D700 at 3200 renders about 8MP of net image data after all the smearing NR is applied. Talk about plastic looking files... But I agree, at least it is a usable file for available darkness shooting. I also agree that at 1600 it is better than the M8 at 1250... My point is I am seeing a significant improvement in noise to the point I feel I can use it at 2500 now and get a usable file.

    Carlos, that 1250 looks very good.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  25. #25
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    That does look good . Bob and I you can actually see details very well on us. Okay ugly details but details without smearing
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  26. #26
    Senior Member JimCollum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    santa cruz, ca
    Posts
    936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    155

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    iso1250 with the new firmware (from a 35 preasph lux)




    100% crop



    (processing was done with SilverEfex.. which added a little film grain)

  27. #27
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Looks very clean too Jim.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  28. #28
    Senior Member JimCollum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    santa cruz, ca
    Posts
    936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    155

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    Looks very clean too Jim.
    processed in Capture one with the default noise settings.. didn't process it in any other Noise app.

    handheld.. about f2.8, 1/60 in a pretty dark forest (sun either down or just going down .. there was a hill and trees between us and the sun).

  29. #29
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    I still think C1 is the best for the M8.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  30. #30
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    In Capture One, the defaults are different when using the new firmware.

    Sharpening went up about 40 points, and the color noise reduction value jumped up by double. When you slide them back to what everything was with the last version of firmware, I'm not really seeing a big difference.

    Double check your settings also on new files vs. old files.

    Ray

  31. #31
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    My C1 settings did not change at all, and I still see cleaner ISO 1250 and 2500 files... Don't know what else to say except it is working for me.

    ,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  32. #32
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    My C1 settings did not change at all, and I still see cleaner ISO 1250 and 2500 files... Don't know what else to say except it is working for me.

    ,
    Use of C1 may well be the difference Jack. I know many, including you, have refined the settings in C1 to get the very most out of the M8 files.

    Unfortunately, C1 is not an option for my applications as I use 2 or 3 different cameras when shooting weddings and dump them all into one file sorted by time shot ... then use LightRoom to process for a number of reasons related to my work flow. As a result I have never become proficient with C1. My M8 files are excellent using LR, except the higher ISO processing.

  33. #33
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Marc:

    It ABSOLUTELY requires C1 to get this difference I'm talking about. I know Jim has seen it and Bob too, and they both use C1. I totally understand your issue with using it -- it bites to have two different workflow softwares -- but by comparison to C1 with this new firmware, the LR conversions pretty much suck, especially 640 and up and even on skintones at all ISO's...

    You should at least try it to see what we're talking about -- you have the freebie, just be sure to DL the latest rev. Note I only crank up the C1 NR from standard on the ISO 2500 files. You might find it valuable enough to justify a slight workflow change: taking the extra time to dump your M8 wedding files into a subfolder inside the main folder

    The other thing I'd like to point out re C1: IF you convert M8 or PhaseOne files with it (doesn't work with Canon files), and get the sharpening settings optimized for your files (like around 98/0.4/2 for the M8), I am finding ZERO need to sharpen additionally in post. IOW the file is coming in already optimally sharpened and looking "organic", and additional CS sharpening only adds artifacts.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  34. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    764
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Jack said he was using nik dfine, with capture 1 for the m8 for high iso's. Jack have you tried any other noise reduction software. I already have neatimage, am considering buying the nik system, now that is on sale, have always liked their sharpner. wondering if niks dfine is the only way to go for the m8 noise reduction. Thanks David

  35. #35
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Hi David:

    First I only use DFine occasionally on M8 ISO 2500 files, not all the time. Most of the time if I'm shooting the M8 at 2500, the lighting is very low, and I find the current lower level of noise I'm seeing as acceptable to the mood/setting in that situation.

    As for tools, I tested both Noise Ninja and DFine on the M8 ISO 2500 files and found I preferred DFIne as it seemed to eliminate the noise with less detail smearing --- AND it works very well on my Phase back high ISO files. Please note I did not spend a lot of time tweaking NN, and I suspect it is as good a product as DFine if you learn how to optimize it for the specific file.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  36. #36
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hollywood, FL
    Posts
    580
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    FWIW, I asked Steffan Daniel at Photokina if the new v2.0 fw offered any noise improvement. Surprisingly, he said no. According to him, the only chages were the Auto ISO and SDHC support. I pressed further, asking if he was sure there was no work done to high ISO files. He again said there was absolutely no improvements done. Crazy. Straight from the source.

    Perhaps the latest version of C1 is offering better noise reduction algorithms.

    David
    David Farkas
    Leica Store Miami

  37. #37
    Senior Member Arne Hvaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    198

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    I just reread this thread, but couldn't find any reference to which version of C1 we're discussing, i.e. the 3,7x that Leica originally recommended for the M8, or the newer v4,x.

  38. #38
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by dfarkas View Post
    FWIW, I asked Steffan Daniel at Photokina if the new v2.0 fw offered any noise improvement. Surprisingly, he said no. According to him, the only chages were the Auto ISO and SDHC support. I pressed further, asking if he was sure there was no work done to high ISO files. He again said there was absolutely no improvements done. Crazy. Straight from the source.

    Perhaps the latest version of C1 is offering better noise reduction algorithms.

    David
    Again not to take away from what others are seeing, but I shot a couple of photos at 1250 & 2500 on the old firmware right before updating in dim light. I then shot the same shots with the new firmware, and no saw no difference when using the same C1 settings.

    Just my experience.

    David may have a point, that the improvement others are seeing are based on something C1 has done in the last releases of version 4 vs. how we processed previously in the earlier releases. So the comparison is based on an old file processed in a previous version of C1 vs. a new file processed in the latest version.


    Ray

  39. #39
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    IMO it is mostly a better raw conversion in C1 than in ACR.
    I went back and re-processed some old files from pre-update firmware and can see the difference between ACR and C1 4.1. Sometime if I have the time (at home) I will compare these along with the 3.7 version of C1.
    -bob

  40. #40
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    For sure it could be one of the last C1 updates, but I have NOT changed NR settings and I am getting cleaner 1250 and 2500 files...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  41. #41
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Jack:

    I think it may depend on how you test. If you shoot under tungsten and then try to WB perfectly, there is just so little data in the blue channel, you get lots of noise. If you leave the file how it AWB or keep it warmer looking , like it was in real life, the noise isn't as bad.

    I noticed the difference in Lightroom, but it just may be my test pictures were in wider spectum lighting than tungsten or candle light.

    Robert

  42. #42
    Senior Member Arne Hvaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    198

    Re: M8 and high ISO with the new firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    IMO it is mostly a better raw conversion in C1 than in ACR.
    I went back and re-processed some old files from pre-update firmware and can see the difference between ACR and C1 4.1. Sometime if I have the time (at home) I will compare these along with the 3.7 version of C1.
    -bob
    That answers my question above. I have both versions installed as well, will have a look when I get home.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •