The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Traveling with an M9

Posted this in MF, but thought I should ask here. I was all set to take my H4d-40 and 28mm lens along with a Nikon d700 and Fuji x100 for a two week trip to North Vietnam and Cambodia. However, I now have an opportunity to take a Leica M9, 21mm f/1.4 Summilux and possibly 28mm f/2 Summilux. Is the Leica kit a better option than the Hassy and x100? Certainly a lighter option. I have limited experience using an M9, but plan to play with it for a week or so before the trip. Thanks.

rayyan

Hi Joe.

I have experience traveling with an M8. Size wise almost same as the M9.

Specifically in the countries you mention, the M9 would be an ideal travel

companion. The humidity and pollution never presented a problem for me;

of course with a bit of care.

The FLs you mention, I have only the cron 28 asph. I paired that with

a cron 75 apo. Wouldn't want for anything else.

Night/Temples, I found I was struggling with my M8. But the M9 would be

better.

Go for it, enjoy and show us the pics. Be smart with your luggage, you should

have no issues.

Jorgen Udvang

Subscriber Member
I'm not a Leica user, but I travel regularly in the two countries you mention, and I would clearly prefer the compact solution that Leica represents. The large aperture 21mm is ideal since there's little light inside temples and nit much street lighting. If I should choose, I would add a 35 and a 75mm, the first for general photography and the latter for portraits etc.

Paratom

I would bring the Hassy and the Leica.
If you travel around a lot Iwould bring just the Leica.

Paratom