Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Leica M lens correction in LR4

  1. #1
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Leica M lens correction in LR4

    LR4 is now supporting lens correction for a number of M lenses. I have still to see how it works.

  2. #2
    Not Available
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,864
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Yup, 21 of 'em.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Any word yet if M9 can tether with Lightroom 4?

  4. #4
    Not Available
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,864
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    You can get those 21 profiles for your current products with the Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) 6.7 beta release (just released today also).

  5. #5
    Member Armanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    210
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Nice! I upgraded yesterday and was processing photos. But didn't look to see if there were M lense profiles there, and ended up doing some adjustments manually. Can't wait to get home to check it out though!
    Armanius
    My Flickr

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    btw M9 does NOT tether with LR4

  7. #7
    Senior Member bradhusick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    2,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    53

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Jameson View Post
    btw M9 does NOT tether with LR4
    ARRRGGGHHH!
    Brad Husick

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,928
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Jameson View Post
    btw M9 does NOT tether with LR4
    I don't think Leica offers any control protocol that Lightroom or any other software could take advantage of to enable tethering. There's certainly no mention of it in the instruction manual or any hint that they have a custom camera control application for end user consumption, and I don't see any software development kit offered from Leica.

    All the other cameras for which Lightroom supports tethering have SDKs available from their manufacturers.

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    I don't think Leica offers any control protocol that Lightroom or any other software could take advantage of to enable tethering. There's certainly no mention of it in the instruction manual or any hint that they have a custom camera control application for end user consumption, and I don't see any software development kit offered from Leica.

    All the other cameras for which Lightroom supports tethering have SDKs available from their manufacturers.
    The S2 tethers to LR ... so Leica knows how to do it. Probably would need a firmware update if it's even possible at all with the M9.

    -Marc

  10. #10
    Senior Member bradhusick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    2,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    53

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    I don't think Leica offers any control protocol that Lightroom or any other software could take advantage of to enable tethering. There's certainly no mention of it in the instruction manual or any hint that they have a custom camera control application for end user consumption, and I don't see any software development kit offered from Leica.

    All the other cameras for which Lightroom supports tethering have SDKs available from their manufacturers.
    If I am not mistaken you can tether the M9 to Aperture.
    Brad Husick

  11. #11
    Not Available
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,864
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    One thing to note - if you use the new "2012 process" as part of the ACR 6.7 RC, you won't have any controls (e.g. exposure, recovery, etc.) visible. This is because Photoshop hasn't had an update (which I would expect soon or when ACR final is released) to support the new controls (e.g. highlights, shadows, etc.). The new Adobe "Photoshop Lightroom 4" (notice the new name) however does. The icon also changed to have an outline and be higher in contrast. So anyway, if you use the "2012 process" it does a pretty nice job out of the box in my limited testing so far. But of course, not as useful. The 21 new Leica M lens corrections seem decent enough - I do notice a change on Summilux-M 50mm f/1.4 ASPH shots with/without the corrections. Something like the Summicron-M 28mm f/2 ASPH shot wide open might be more interesting though.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by bradhusick View Post
    If I am not mistaken you can tether the M9 to Aperture.
    Correct. It's not particularly stable though.

  13. #13
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,928
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by bradhusick View Post
    If I am not mistaken you can tether the M9 to Aperture.
    That's very interesting, I didn't know at all.

    From the link I found that talked about it,
    Tethered M9, Aperture3, Imac...Yes! - Leica User Forum
    it relies on the camera being in PTP (Print Transfer Protocol) mode for the USB port. So that's the protocol they're using ...

    I don't know how they are operating the shutter release with that protocol, however.

    Again, very interesting. More I didn't know about the M9... ;-)

    ---
    A little more hunting and I found that there is "Leica Digital Capture v1.0" available for the M8 model. It's not listed as available for the M9, but that implies there at least was a supported control protocol. It's probably a good bet that the M9 still has the same control protocol in it, but it's not listed because they haven't updated and tested the software for the M9.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    I tether my M9 for studio shoots all the time. I use Apple's Image Capture. Hook up the camera with a blank card (otherwise you have weird import behavior happening and it just adds to confusion), then once Image Capture sees it, go to File -> Take Picture. Make sure you set your destination folder to be the SAME folder that LR looks at as a Hot Folder. Then I just go back to the camera and shoot. A few seconds later the image shows up on the lightroom screen.

    There is no aperture/shutter speed/iso control. You can hit the space bar in the image capture take picture screen and it will fire the shutter.

    Also, this is a slow process. If you shoot multiple frames the buffer gives priority to shooting than transferring files to the computer. Just give it a few seconds. This is not a speedy operation but it sure is better at looking at a large screen of your image than the silly display on the back of camera.

    Enjoy.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    new to LR and used my 24mm lux for some images but it is not showing up in Lens Correction menu.

    any fast fixes for this?

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    photos made with the 50 lux work with lens correction just fine, but although LR shows that some shots were taken with the 24 lux it wont let me use auto lens correction and Leica doesnt show up in the Lens brand menu.

    any ideas what the deal is? what did i mess up?

    i would love to use auto lens correction especially for my wide 24 lux.

    thanks.

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    I believe they normally apply the lens corrections automatically I thought but if you want to manually select one - go under the Lens Correction tab. Select the "Enable Profile Corrections" box. Select Leica. Then a list of all the embedded lens profiles in LR4 (M and S) will be in the drop down menu.

    I don't know if it makes a difference whether the lens is 6-bit coded, set to auto, or if it's set to manual. I have some non-6-bit coded lenses myself so I'd have to go through and test that out.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    thanks for the help but i have a 6 bit 24 lux and for some reason Leica does not show in the lens brand pull down tab for auto correct. strange.

    lens correction works perfect with my 50 lux 6bit, but not sure why it is not working with my 24mm 6bit.

  19. #19
    Senior Member douglasf13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,965
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by gooomz View Post
    thanks for the help but i have a 6 bit 24 lux and for some reason Leica does not show in the lens brand pull down tab for auto correct. strange.

    lens correction works perfect with my 50 lux 6bit, but not sure why it is not working with my 24mm 6bit.
    Are you shooting jpeg, by chance? Many lens correction profiles only show up and work when shooting RAW.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    thanks douglas. i think the image i am working with is a tiff since i exported a raw to silver effects.
    i will check.

    btw. wouldn't it be a good idea to have lens correction at the top of develop module as especially with wide angle lenses, i would think that this would be the first thing to do in post.

    thanks for the help.

  21. #21
    Senior Member douglasf13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,965
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by gooomz View Post
    thanks douglas. i think the image i am working with is a tiff since i exported a raw to silver effects.
    i will check.

    btw. wouldn't it be a good idea to have lens correction at the top of develop module as especially with wide angle lenses, i would think that this would be the first thing to do in post.

    thanks for the help.
    Sure thing. TIFF and jpegs won't call up all lens corrections. Only raws. Granted, I did see a thread in the past that showed how to go in and change a few things in the lens correction code that allowed jpeg correction for some Sony lens, so you may be able to find a way to hack it for jpeg/tiff use. I tried it with Sony a couple of years ago, and it was easy and worked well. Unfortunately, I no longer have the link for those instructions, so you'll have to google around for it.

    I prefer Lightroom's method of keeping the modules that are adjusted most often, like WB, exposure and tone curve, at the top.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    is there a setting to apply lens correction for various lens automatically upon import?

    is there a reason "not" to lens correct?

    applying lens correction just seems like something that would be done all the time.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2,057
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica M lens correction in LR4

    Quote Originally Posted by douglasf13 View Post
    I prefer Lightroom's method of keeping the modules that are adjusted most often, like WB, exposure and tone curve, at the top.
    I do also and there are good reasons for the order as explained in LL LR4 tutorial videos. Excellent and well spent money BTW.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •