Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Tethered camera control for the M9?

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,931
    Post Thanks / Like

    Tethered camera control for the M9?

    I see that Leica made a tethered camera control app for the M8, but doesn't offer it for the M9. Does anyone know whether it actually works for the M9?

    Thx

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Tethered camera control for the M9?

    On Mac only Aperture with limited capacity i.e. files copied to sync folder
    On windows i think there are couple more utilities


    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    I see that Leica made a tethered camera control app for the M8, but doesn't offer it for the M9. Does anyone know whether it actually works for the M9?

    Thx

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Tethered camera control for the M9?

    I have tried aperture and it's a bit unstable with the M9. It loses connection a bit.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,931
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Tethered camera control for the M9?

    Thanks!

    It's mostly of academic interest as I only rarely have any need or desire to work tethered. Just wanted to know if anyone had tried using it and what the results were.

    G

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    107
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Tethered camera control for the M9?

    For whatever reason I didn't try this with my M9, I don't think, but ImageCapture on the mac is pretty simple yet powerful.

    When I run into a camera that won't tether in CaptureOne, I open it up and use image capture to take a picture via space bar/return and put it in a specified folder. In CaptureOne, I create a hot folder and Bam! Works on my old 5D and the M8!

    ps, I'm running 10.7 as well. Good luck!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Tethered camera control for the M9?

    I've played around for a while with Image Capture and the M9 but I didn't have any luck with it. But I could have been doing something wrong. I would love to hear if any body has had any success with this?

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,304
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Tethered camera control for the M9?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Jameson View Post
    I've played around for a while with Image Capture and the M9 but I didn't have any luck with it. But I could have been doing something wrong. I would love to hear if any body has had any success with this?
    Did you set USB connection to PTP?

    Good luck, K-H.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •