Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: thought I was losing my mind

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    thought I was losing my mind

    The M Mono arrived yesterday....love at first sight. Went to open files in Capture 1 the only Raw program besides Raw Developer I've used for years. I couldn't import any images. Having recently upgraded (via demo glad to say) to 7.0 with it's new "catalogues" and old "sessions" I assumed I was doing something wrong, over, and over, again. But I could work with Nef's....hmmmm....could it be that Mono DNGs aren't compatible with Capture?? That would be ridiculous!! But true. Ok, I've held out long enough, and it comes with the camera. so Lightroom is in my future. Fortunately the latest Raw Developer, now called Irident Developer, opened the files which are so nice!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2,057
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Congrats. Now you will need to get some ND filters fast as I imagine the snow shots up there will need filtration while using the MM. Remember to keep your latest love warm while outside.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Thanks. ND filters ready to go, I'm counting on the mono to warm me up.....Peter

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    494
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    i resisted lightroom for years too, being a photoshop enthusiast, but after a week with lightroom, i'm very enthusiastic about it too.
    Ed
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by innerimager View Post
    The M Mono arrived yesterday....love at first sight. Went to open files in Capture 1 the only Raw program besides Raw Developer I've used for years. I couldn't import any images. Having recently upgraded (via demo glad to say) to 7.0 with it's new "catalogues" and old "sessions" I assumed I was doing something wrong, over, and over, again. But I could work with Nef's....hmmmm....could it be that Mono DNGs aren't compatible with Capture?? That would be ridiculous!! But true. Ok, I've held out long enough, and it comes with the camera. so Lightroom is in my future. Fortunately the latest Raw Developer, now called Irident Developer, opened the files which are so nice!
    I contacted Phase One Support Service about 6 weeks ago and the answer was :"We are awaiting sample cameras from Leica to be able to test it."
    For your information also AccuRaw RC3 (among others) is supporting the Monochrom file.
    Ario
    www.arioarioldi.net
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    I am amazed that Phase One is playing hard to get. All they need are DNGs , not a camera. Or is Leica so in business with Adobe they are the problem? Hard to give up 5 years of work flow, and C1 gives superb IQ.
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by innerimager View Post
    I am amazed that Phase One is playing hard to get. All they need are DNGs , not a camera. Or is Leica so in business with Adobe they are the problem? Hard to give up 5 years of work flow, and C1 gives superb IQ.
    Hi There
    Trouble is that it would seem to be difficult to avoid the de-mosaicing. Apple don't support the MM files either (even though they are working on it). I can imagine the difficulty.

    Have fun with your lovely new camera!

    Just this guy you know

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,604
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    In addition to the ND filters, consider yellow and orange varieties. Very handy. The Leica flash as well. LR is more than adequate for me ( i ma the last person to go to about PP- but the camera does the most for anyone).

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by jonoslack View Post
    Hi There
    Trouble is that it would seem to be difficult to avoid the de-mosaicing. Apple don't support the MM files either (even though they are working on it). I can imagine the difficulty.

    Have fun with your lovely new camera!
    I see Jono. Thanks for the info and best wishes.....Peter
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Just did my first work in Lightroom (posted one in the fun with thread), and I am impressed and prepared to go with it.....Peter

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by innerimager View Post
    Just did my first work in Lightroom (posted one in the fun with thread), and I am impressed and prepared to go with it.....Peter
    I switched from C1 to lr some years ago. I still have both software on my computer but overall LR seems more consistent regarding color in my opinion. (I am talking about M8/M9/S2...)
    Also LR is allmost allways pretty fast with providing profiles for new cameras of all brands.

  12. #12
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by Paratom View Post
    I switched from C1 to lr some years ago. I still have both software on my computer but overall LR seems more consistent regarding color in my opinion. (I am talking about M8/M9/S2...)
    Also LR is allmost allways pretty fast with providing profiles for new cameras of all brands.
    I find that S/S2 files are more detailed in C1P7,but the lack of lens support is disappointing.

    LR4 is so competitively priced that it's worth having both apps.

    Using embedded profile does improve color in LR4.. also helpful that you can create custom profiles in LR4 with the color checker

  13. #13
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by RVB View Post
    I find that S/S2 files are more detailed in C1P7,but the lack of lens support is disappointing.

    LR4 is so competitively priced that it's worth having both apps.

    Using embedded profile does improve color in LR4.. also helpful that you can create custom profiles in LR4 with the color checker
    I found skintones of S2 files sometimes problematic with c1 (and I have tried various different profiles including the one form Leica).
    I also feel c1 has more sharpening included in the standard setting.
    I switched to C1 many years ago when using the DMR and M8, but over the years I now prefer LR.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    691
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    It's a real shame about C1. It has two weaknesses.

    1. No support for monochrome DNG's (Don't forget this is an OPEN SPECIFICATION published by Adobe, not a LEICA issue!!!).

    2. I cannot import a text file of keywords given to me by an agency.

    1 is bad, but 2 is impossible, I can't possibly type in a hierarchy of thousands of keywords for each agency, so basically stuck with LR, at least as an asset manager. The problem with LR is sharpening and clarity, their algos are too aggressive.

    I really love the C1 output, especially v7.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  15. #15
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: thought I was losing my mind

    Quote Originally Posted by Paratom View Post
    I found skintones of S2 files sometimes problematic with c1 (and I have tried various different profiles including the one form Leica).
    I also feel c1 has more sharpening included in the standard setting.
    I switched to C1 many years ago when using the DMR and M8, but over the years I now prefer LR.
    I find the S/S2 to be less able to produce skin tone's than Hasselblad/Phase One.. I think it will improve as the system mature's though..

    Spot on about sharpening in C1P7,the file's need very little sharpening,they seem to be very sharp at default setting's.. file's look to be higher res in C1P7 than LR4.. Colour is subjective but I have a slight preference for C1

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •