The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Leica 75mm APO Summicron ASPH "Out of the Box"

Photojazz

Maybe I can come back and add lens photos this weekend, but for now, I just want to give my initial impressions. I LOVE this lens! Oh sh.. I let the cat out of the bag. Sorry.

Let's try to be a little more non-biased right off. Let's start with a physical description. It's Leica, you expect quality, and the lens delivers. It looks fantastic. It's really not sized that large for a 75 mm, and it feels comfortable mounted on the M9.

Right off, I started shooting some close up targets, and you know what, I think this is actually where this lens is going to shine the most. It's harder with rangefinder to get accurate focus on distance targets as you know. I might do better with a magnifier. But at this point, I do not have one. Today I backfocused a rabbit, I had a clean shot at him, about 25 feet away from me, but the grass behind the rabbit was in focus. Darn.

Here's an image I took today, that if you could see it at full resolution, you'd see how accurate the focus is on the screw on the mailbox latch:

The color is great, the bokeh is well, to die for. The focus accuracy and micro-details are fantastic on this rustic mailbox, that is 20 years old. It's a shame the rust is out of focus, we'd have seen some real detail there.

This little metal flag has proven to be a good photo target, and with the Leica 75mm, it proved to be no challenge at all, the detail of the top edge of the sign is fantastic. The bokeh at this medium range is pleasing.