The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Experience with Insurance on Leica Gear

yudafu2

Hi guys,

This question must have been addressed somewhere else. But since acquiring a Leica S2 camera and two lenses, this question suddenly became quite obvious. I also have a number of M camera and lenses.

I am not a pro, but do travel internationally. Also I would like to have insurance against my own potential misfortunte, like felling off the ground and breaking the camera or so.

Can you tell me your choice of insurance and your experience with claims?

Thank you very much!!

Best,
George

mdg137

George,

I make my living as an attorney, but I started a photography limited liability company-- it really is as simple as filling out a couple forms and paying $50.00 per year for the business license ( in Michigan at least)-- tax wise, it's part of my normal income tax filing, effortless.
You do have to show a profit most years to avoid having it declared a hobby, but that has never been a problem.

The main advantage to me is that it allowed me to insure about $35,000 worth of gear under an Inland Marine Policy --- I'm covered for drops, slips, everything except for
theft from a vehicle. The policy runs about $300.00 per year.

MCTuomey

Mark, would you be able to share where you were able to lock in an Inland Marine Policy without having to acquire any other policies, such as commercial liability?

Duane Pandorf

Hi guys,

This question must have been addressed somewhere else. But since acquiring a Leica S2 camera and two lenses, this question suddenly became quite obvious. I also have a number of M camera and lenses.