The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

New to Leica need advise

silver92b

Hi, I just pulled the trigger on a Leica M 240. I've done some shooting with my RD-1 (which is for sale BTW ;)), so I have some experience with RF cameras. My question is regarding what lens to get next. I own 3 CV lenses, 40mmf1.4, 35mmf2.5 and 25mmf4. I also have an old Industar 5cmf3.5 but I hear that without a Leica (or at least a Zeiss) lens, I'm wasting the camera....

What would be a most useful lens to purchase? I'm not flush with cash after buying the body, so economy is a factor. Also, I want a lens that will allow me to take good usable shots indoors with fairly low light as well as all around street photography, etc.

Here are some samples of the photos I'd like to shoot successfully. These were taken with EM-5 and 35-100mm f2.8 ISO 3200..

Your input would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to waste money and time experimenting. I've done enough of that with my M43 system :p. Now we are talking real money.... ;)

docmoore

Subscriber and Workshop Member
You have a discerning eye and will appreciate the subtle rendering of the Leica lenses....

The Summarit series has been well received ... 35 or 50 2.5s image very beautifully....

If you can part with your lenses...trade for one to start you may find the entry cost is not that onerous...

Here:

Used 35mm Leica M Photo Equipment & Cameras - Camera West - Walnut Creek & Rancho Mirage, CA

Great place and they have had all of my business for years.