Site Sponsors

Thread: Mandler or Karbe?

Post Thanks / Like

Mandler or Karbe?

So, on this whole Mandler-look thing, I happen to be a bit waylaid on the rendering issue. Clinical / non-clinical etc makes no difference to me (crosses heart: I am a physician !!) unless I see hard evidence, but I am interested in some intentional spherical aberration if I can get it at a reasonable price..... So what would be your definitive desert-island-Mandler-aberrated lenses?

Does any one know of any comparative reviews of something like say a 35v4 cron vs 35asph on same subjects ? or say a 75 cron vs 75 lux at f2? or any asph vs pre-asph?
    Ashwin Rao seems convinced in one earlier thread, citing a few beautifully captured photos.. Are there any more nice examples in this regard to guide a newbie's eye? i.e., IS THERE AN EVIDENCE BASE?
    Or is it all a hype and fad?
    Cheers,
    Saty

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Mandler or Karbe?

Evidence for what? The whole stuff is based on beliefs. Either you do or you do not.

I posted a few shots on the Sony forum saying that they were from a "Mandler Magic" lens. They look the part. Only it was not even a Leica lens.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like

Saty,