The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

An open letter to Leica (2015)...please share your own thoughts

asiafish

I think the Q looks terrific, but I'd be in the crop mode for 35mm most of the time, in which case it becomes an X with eVF built in. My X and separate EVF are paid for.

rscheffler

Coming late to this thread, but will add my 2¢:

I'm a Leica photographer since 2010. I use the equipment professionally alongside Canon DSLRs. Leica is an integral part of how I cover many the events/jobs I photograph. I love the M system and am extremely encouraged by the technological progress evident in the M240 vs. the M9, the capability of the Q and what it likely bodes for the next round of cameras.

The greatest failing of Leica, IMO, is service repair TIME. Often service quality is good, though I'm currently dealing with an incorrectly repaired lens and having some trouble getting it sorted out. And everyone at Leica has been great to deal with in person, when I've had the opportunity. But 6-8 week turnaround time is utterly ridiculous and must be improved.

It is my #1 request of Leica.

In terms of future product, it's more along narrowly focused details than a grand concept. Probably because I already like the M system so much...

- An M body with much more reliable, much faster electronics package: deeper buffer, option for higher fps if desired, no more random lockups.
- Fully electronic shutter option.
- Aluminum top plate to reduce weight. Heck, make it composite, carbon fibre, polymer, whatever.

A few comments about other comments/requests: