Site Sponsors

Thread: Wide Angle shooting M9 V M240 - experiences appreciated

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Wide Angle shooting M9 V M240 - experiences appreciated

Hello people I would appreciate your thoughts based on your experiences as I am deciding on whether to buy a 240M-P or not specifically based on whether I will get an appreciable improvement (hopefully) when using wide angle lenses.

In simple language - will the 240-P give me better edge to edge performance when using wides over the M9? If so how much better? My end goal is always large prints - produced with the least possible post processing and correction - I am a truly lazy photographer.

I have no interest in hearing about the features that the M240-P delivers apart from its performance capabilities versus M9 using wides - as I am a troglodyte type photographer who doesn't use video/high ISO/wifi or breakfast cereal microwaving functionality at all. I just want the best file I can get and I would buy an M240 IF it delivered a better wide angle performance than my M9 with wide angle lenses. By better I mean edge to edge file quality for printing up to 36 inches.

Your experience with any M mount lenses would be appreciated - and by wide I mean I mean 21-24mm focal lengths. As a supplementary question, I would be keen to know if my 28 cron or 35 lux - were better served on a n M240. If you have specific recommendations regarding lenses that would be great.

Thanks
    -Pete

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Wide Angle shooting M9 V M240 - experiences appreciated

Hi Pete

I'm not one for pixel peeping so I wont comment on edge to edge performance, despite having owned an M9 and now an M240. I will comment on composition since you want to limit pp/corrections. Using the 240 and evf with wideangles is a huge step change from the M9.