The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

S006/S007 ISO performance

M

mjr

Morning!

I've had the 006 over a year now and know exactly how to get what I want from a shot, superb camera! I've had the 007 for a few weeks and getting to know it better, I know a couple of people have asked about the differences at base ISO between the 2 cameras so as LR has now updated to include support for the 007 I thought I'd have a play and see what's what.

Please bare in mind I am a commercial photographer, I am not a professional tester, I don't care for it beyond getting to know a camera and how it fits to my own needs, my observations are based on how I work and what I want from a file, it may be helpful, it may not, please take anything I write as it is intended. You may not like what I like or work as I work so it's just what it is!

I have shown some high ISO shots, the 007 is the best camera I have used at ISO 800/1600 and has allowed me to get better aurora/night shots than any other camera I have tried. What I wanted to look at was what was happening at lower ISO's and whether that magic from the 006 has been lost in the move to CMOS.