The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with the Leica SL (digital)

Robert Campbell

There are several variations on the Spitfire canopy design. This is the "iconic Supermarine Spitfire fighter" ...

(see 92-year-old Female WWII Vet Flies Again | EpicTimes)

where this is a more classic MK26b model:

(see Spitfire Mk26b | Light Aircraft DB & Sales)

A P-51 Mustang has a fundamentally different fuselage/wing/tail shape, never mind the cockpit canopy:

I'm by no means an expert on any of these airplanes. :)

G
The P-51 Mustang uses a version of the Rolls-Royce Merlin engine, built by Packard under licence. The Merlin was the engine in the Spitfire etc.

scott kirkpatrick

The P-51 Mustang uses a version of the Rolls-Royce Merlin engine, built by Packard under licence. The Merlin was the engine in the Spitfire etc.
Apparently the P51 was a real dog until they got to England and tried the Merlin. And that's why the exhaust stacks look almost the same. Is the 5-bladed propeller seen on both fighters or just on the Mustang?

scott

fotoism

I tweaked Chrome a bit and now the color there is good on your second upload (#577) as well as Robert's quote of your files (#581), but your previous files (#561) are still pale in Chrome, and all fine in IE and FF. Go figure!

scott kirkpatrick

I tweaked Chrome a bit and now the color there is good on your second upload (#577) as well as Robert's quote of your files (#581), but your previous files (#561) are still pale in Chrome, and all fine in IE and FF. Go figure!