Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    1,282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Capture One 9.1 (cost-free upgrade) was just released. You'll see a new profile for developing DNG files, "Leica SL Generic," which gives this (white-balanced with a click on the grey card at left):

    L1010864 by scott kirkpatrick, on Flickr

    instead of this (using the previous default "generic DNG" profile:

    L1010864 1 by scott kirkpatrick, on Flickr

    scott
    Thanks 3 Member(s) thanked for this post

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    DXO added support as well.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    60
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Tethering?

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    good to hear .. I'm glad they've sorted their difficulties with Leica at least enough to update for SL support.

    G

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Wish they would support Leica S too ...
    - ErlingMM

  6. #6
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,575
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    I keep forgetting that C1 doesn't support the S and I get through processing a dozen captures before I remember. For an unsupported camera, it looks pretty good.

    --Matt (who does know the difference between "supported" and "it works today")

    Aside: If you've noticed that I haven't posted any Leica S images - an (006) just fell into my hands at a stupidly good price. I'm borrowing a few lenses for now, but really have to get some!
    Last edited by MGrayson; 18th March 2016 at 03:23.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by scott kirkpatrick View Post
    Capture One 9.1 (cost-free upgrade) was just released. You'll see a new profile for developing DNG files, "Leica SL Generic," which gives this (white-balanced with a click on the grey card at left):

    L1010864 by scott kirkpatrick, on Flickr

    instead of this (using the previous default "generic DNG" profile:

    L1010864 1 by scott kirkpatrick, on Flickr

    scott
    So, to your eyes is the color reproduction better or worse than Lightroom?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    1,282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Wing View Post
    So, to your eyes is the color reproduction better or worse than Lightroom?
    C1 has generally offered better profiles than LR, but I don't use LR, so someone else will have to answer this.

    scott

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    good to hear .. I'm glad they've sorted their difficulties with Leica at least enough to update for SL support.

    G
    I think the only Leica they've skipped support on is the S cameras. They supported the D-Lux and prior to the Adobe deal C1 was the bundled software.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    good to hear .. I'm glad they've sorted their difficulties with Leica at least enough to update for SL support.

    G
    I think the only Leica they've skipped support on is the S cameras. They supported the D-Lux and prior to the Adobe deal C1 was the bundled software.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by HiredArm View Post
    I think the only Leica they've skipped support on is the S cameras. They supported the D-Lux and prior to the Adobe deal C1 was the bundled software.
    Phase One doesn't support any other medium format competitor, a strategy that I personally do not understand and that IMHO is rather short-sighted but whatever...
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    I'll ask too. Have you tried tethered capture?

  12. #12
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by JorisV View Post
    Phase One doesn't support any other medium format competitor, a strategy that I personally do not understand and that IMHO is rather short-sighted but whatever...
    I know they don't. I don't think they ever will.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by JorisV View Post
    Phase One doesn't support any other medium format competitor, a strategy that I personally do not understand and that IMHO is rather short-sighted but whatever...
    Good that Sony is not that short-sighted as P1, because then P1 would end up without CMOS sensors ....

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Even though I heard the standard c1 profile works not too bad for the S007 (not so for the S006).

  15. #15
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,575
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Adobe DNG File Neutral in C1 isn't too bad for (006) files, but for that camera, I like LR better. For the Q, C1 wins hands down. It makes it hard to settle on one.

    Sorry,

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    I use Iridient Developer for Q, T, M9 and S2.

    I also have a license for C1 but not supporting the S2 means that I have to use two converters anyway, so I don't bother using C1 anymore

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by JorisV View Post
    I use Iridient Developer for Q, T, M9 and S2.

    I also have a license for C1 but not supporting the S2 means that I have to use two converters anyway, so I don't bother using C1 anymore
    I have started trying Apple Photos with MacPhun's creative suites and really like it. The colors are great and with MacPhun, it's like using Apple Aperture, which I loved, again.

    Best

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Czech Republic and Austria
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Capture One now supports Leica SL!

    Quote Originally Posted by Paratom View Post
    Even though I heard the standard c1 profile works not too bad for the S007 (not so for the S006).
    I've tried C1 a few times with the 007 files and the standard DNG profile works pretty well with those files.
    I was even contemplating spending more time with the combination but I just can't stand the way C1's catalog works - it seems to me that every time I open the program, it opens a different set of images; or
    I can't find my work etc. It is so counter-intiutive compared to LR that it makes me feel like I am an idiot.
    By the way, I think it would be cool if Leica/Adobe could supply several different profiles for the S cameras in LR, just like there are for the Sony, Nikon and other cameras.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •