Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Profoto D1 & Air Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, California
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Profoto D1 & Air Question

    I have purchased a Profoto D1/500 Kit. With Air Remote, I should be able to control the heads individually. In order to do that, I believe I need to put two D1s in two different groups ("A" & "B"). However I couldn't find out how to do that. I'm able to change the channel only.

    Subrata

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    168
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto D1 & Air Question

    Press the channel set button, the channel indicator will start flashing. With the channel selection flashing you can change the channel by rotating it. Press and hold down the button to change the group.

    On the Air remote the group button scrolls though the groups so you can modify lights in a specific group. Press Master on the left side of the group indicators to make them all active.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, California
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Profoto D1 & Air Question

    "Press and hold down the button to change the group."...

    Thanks Kirk, that's what I needed.

  4. #4
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Profoto D1 & Air Question

    Enjoy the D1's. They have been working out very well for my clients who are using them. The Air remote is great. Are you using the Air USB with the Capture One Plug In?

    Lance
    LANCE SCHAD - Digital Transitions - Phase One,Mamiya | Leaf,Arca-Swiss,Cambo, Profoto
    direct/cell:610-496-5586 office:877-367-8537x224
    http://www.digitaltransitions.com email:[email protected]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    168
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto D1 & Air Question

    Nice plug for yourself there Lance.

    Every pro I know who has bought the AIR USB had been very unhappy with the lousy software. Sadly it's not even developed by Profoto and it's poorly designed and supported.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    528
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto D1 & Air Question

    I second the opinion about the software. Profoto should be ashamed of putting this into the market. This is not even worthy of being called an engineering prototype and further development appears to be not happening.

    I have an AIR USB, use it but it really stinks which is a damn shame!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •