Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Using A Flash With M6ttl

  1. #1
    Senior Member ShiroKuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hawaii/Japan
    Posts
    650
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    31

    Using A Flash With M6ttl

    I would like to use a flash with my M6 ttl off camera held in my hand while shooting ..... Seems the more I search for info on this the more confused I get ...... Simply what is the best set up for this ?

    Thanks for the help ..

    Charley

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    I remember some people were using the Nikon SC-17 cable because it "works" physically and electronically. I don't remember if TTL was maintained, maybe manual or auto???

    The cable is discontinued, it is replaced by the SC-28. Don't know if the new one fits as much as the old one!
    Francois B.

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    I can't tell you on an M6TTL, but on my M7 and M8 the SC-28 cable works just fine.

    Ray

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    534
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    Hey, sorry I missed your post.

    I've had good results with the Leica SF20. Can be used with the Nikon SC17 cord. In the editorial gallery of my site there's a pic of a taxi at night driving parallel. That was with M7 and SF20.

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    Senior Member ShiroKuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hawaii/Japan
    Posts
    650
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    31

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    Thanks all for your input .....I just picked up a Leica sf 24 D and the Nikon SC-28 cable ...
    Works just fine .....

    If anyone would care to share any off camera flash techniques using a Leica M I would really appreciate it ...

    CharlesPhoto ....Really enjoyed your site ... great images ..... Love the colors in Instanbul, Touch Me I'm Sick....... #11 Edfest,Kitsap.WA..... love this shot .... anyway some great photography ....Angkor Wat .....

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    I wonder if there is a way to rig a wireless set-up so you could shoot cordless?

  7. #7
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    A note on the M6 TTL is that the flash sync will not work if the batteries go dead in the camera. Unlike the M6 and earlier cameras, the TTL version must have replaced mechanical sync contacts with some sort of electronic circuity.

    I found out the hard way when I first got a M6 TTL and was shooting a championship football game in the cold fall weather. By the time the game was over, it was getting dark and the temperature was probably near zero. When I tried using the M6 TTL with a flash for the jubilation shots, the camera batteries were dead and the flash would not fire. I was not worried about the batteries in the camera because I figured the M6 TTL had a mechanical shutter and I would be shooting with a flash anyway. After that incident, I made sure I had spare batteries with me.

    Robert

  8. #8
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    I wonder if there is a way to rig a wireless set-up so you could shoot cordless?
    I have done it with a pair of pocket wizards. On the flash unit, you used either a sync cord into the pocket wizard or you get a flash shoe adapter to a cord that fits the pocket wizard.

    Robert

  9. #9
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    Rob,

    The pocket wizards should fire it fine in "A" mode, right? However, it can't do TTL if I'm correct?

    Ray

  10. #10
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    Quote Originally Posted by harmsr View Post
    Rob,

    The pocket wizards should fire it fine in "A" mode, right? However, it can't do TTL if I'm correct?

    Ray
    Correct, just in A or M mode.

    Robert

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    santa barbara, ca
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using A Flash With M6ttl

    I don't know if it's still available or not, but I used to use one of Lutz Konnerman's "S-FILL's" on an SF-20. It's basically a large diffuse panel of plastic that softens the flash a bit, and it's pretty effective. Not as good as a bounce head, but....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •