The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

How bad are "no name" monolights really?

gebseng

Hello everyone,

I am an architectural photographer, used to work on 4x5" for 15 years and switched to digital about 5 years ago. At the moment, I use a setup with a Linhof Techno view camera, SK Digitar lenses from 24 to 72mm and a Leaf Credo 40 digital back.

I never used a lot of additional lighting for interiors, and at the moment only have two Hedler Tungsten halogen lights, 2000 Watts each, for the occasional fill-in. Mostly aimed at the ceiling or through an umbrella, never direct.

These lights are not very bright for how I use them, but the biggest downside is that I often have to correct them from 3200K to 5600K with gels0, which makes them even less bright.

So I was thinking about trying a monolight studio flash unit instead, I guess I will need a 1000Ws head, since I mostly shoot at f11 and ISO100. A modelling light above 250W will also be necessary. Fast refresh times or fine-tuned controls are pretty low on my list, since I almost never work in the studio or with people.

The brand name monolights in this power range seem to be pretty expensive, above $ 1500,- mostly.

On ebay, you can find lots of "no name" 1000Ws monolights in the $ 400-500 range (examples here, and here). Do you have any experience on how good or bad these really are? There seem to be no reviews, which is probably pretty telling. But I'm under the impression that my needs for a flash are pretty modest, apart from the Ws I need.

Your input on this subject is very welcome,

thanks,

Gebhard

gazwas