Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    So I'm looking at getting some Bron studio heads but I'm a bit confused as to the differences between the more recent heads. The 3200J Pulso G is the latest head and I was all set to get these however, I've seen quite a few 3200J Pulso F4 heads for sale used which I believe to be the previous version to the latest head that look almost identical but at a fraction of the cost.

    Both offer the zoom/focusing function and have the handle on the back with the only difference I can see being the stand mount is different on the new head so can anyone fill me in on the differences?

  2. #2
    Senior Member aztwang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    371
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by gazwas View Post
    So I'm looking at getting some Bron studio heads but I'm a bit confused as to the differences between the more recent heads. The 3200J Pulso G is the latest head and I was all set to get these however, I've seen quite a few 3200J Pulso F4 heads for sale used which I believe to be the previous version to the latest head that look almost identical but at a fraction of the cost.

    Both offer the zoom/focusing function and have the handle on the back with the only difference I can see being the stand mount is different on the new head so can anyone fill me in on the differences?
    So curious why do you need Pulso when you have MobiLED..Are you adding Scoro to your system? Hope all is well....Don

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by aztwang View Post
    So curious why do you need Pulso when you have MobiLED..Are you adding Scoro to your system? Hope all is well....Don
    Hi Don, yes I'm just in the process of addind a Scoro for my studio work. Its a big investment and hence my question about the F4 heasds but I'm loving the Move so much that I now want to convert my studio so all my lighting is Bron.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    North Sweden
    Posts
    1,401
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Hey Gaz

    Good to hear that you are enjoying the move system, any comments on the Para and kit now you've been using it a while? I'm absolutely loving the Profoto B1 but keep looking at the Para as the few times I've seen it in use I've been amazed at the light. Is it a rubbust kit, easy to set up on location and taking the abuse of daily use?

    Cheers

    Mat

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Hi Mat, glad you're enjoying the B1's - so you'll be adding another soon?

    To be honest I've not used the Para as much as I hoped yet and been using hard reflectors and softboxes more but I'm starting a personal peoject soon that will use it exclusively. When I have used it the lighting quality is amazing and being focusable very flexible. No regrets even thought its not been used that much yet.

    As for Para build quality, you have nothing to worry about. They use very high quality materials, superb as are the new Bron softbox range. Even the case the Para comes in is brilliant (but very big). I don't think anyone who buys a Para would regret it even considering their high cost.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Hi Gaz,
    I have Pulso F heads, the major difference between the older and the newer G models is that the older one are dedicated voltage. I have been told that they can not go from 120 volts to 220 volts, because of the fan.

    Make sure that your flash tube have the star printed on the ceramic base.

    Enjoy the system, it is great.

    Michel
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Hi Michel, thanks for the explanation, that was something I'd never considered, especially when looking at used heads.

    What is the significance of the star on the tube?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    I have use my heads with a Senso and Verso on location with the batteries as fill light, just can use the modelling lights, because of the power they draw.

    Since Bron control the flash tube, you must have the newer tubes they have the star on the base, they have been around since the mid 90's.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Thanks for the info, much appreciated.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    Posts
    174
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    One thing to consider is that the Pulso heads can be used with the Move, although without modeling light. Not sure about the older ones.

    Regards,
    Ralf
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by rmueller View Post
    One thing to consider is that the Pulso heads can be used with the Move, although without modeling light. Not sure about the older ones.
    Hi Ralf, thanks for the input.

    How about thr other way around, can my Move MobiLED heads be used on the Scoro, I've been told not?

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Hi,

    to refine Michels explanations: Pulso F and G heads share the same mechanical design. It is true that F heads have a dedicated voltage/frequency rating. This can be modified if the head will be permanently used at the same location. The fan in the F heads has a greater diameter and is more effective but also louder, it is the same fan for all voltages. This fan often fails due to its age or mechanical abuse/transportation. This fan is not anymore available as spare part so if it fails you have to get the complete print, the metal that holds the fan and a new fan which actually converts the F to G head electrically. You can use all flash tubes with Grafit and Scoro packs. The flash tubes with the star on the socket have modified electrodes that can better withstand the higher demands and repetition rates of the Scoro packs. These tubes surfaced when the Scoro packs were introduced.
    As a side note, always keep in mind what you are doing with your strobes - fast repetition at high power is poison for the tubes!
    Anyway, you made a good choice with the bron equipment :-) Have fun!

    Cheers, Ulf
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Thanks for the information Ulf.

    It seems like the F or G heads will be perfectly happy with the Scoro. I still have a preference for the G head as the stand mount looks like a standard stand spigot as are the MobiLED's, where the F heads looks more like a square peg? Do you need special adapters for the F heads or Bron stands?

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Yes... I forgot the stand mount :-) The old mount fits on a standard spigot, donīt worry. If you prefer the new version you can order the parts from broncolor. There is a complete conversion set that also includes a new bolt and a locking lever but you actually only need the Tripod-mount (part Z6684.00), a screw (part 39058.00) and the brake disc which will be around 22€ for the three parts vs a lot more for the set. The brake disc should be replaced anyway, the old version was made from a kind of rubber material that usually has become sticky.

    Cheers

    Ulf
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  15. #15
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    I'm kinda surprised people aren't talking much about the Broncolor Siros models more as an alternative to the Profoto D1/B1. Seemslike a well thought out unit with WiFi compatibility through iOS and Android coming soon. Built in Pocketwizard or RFS 2.1 and HSS on the higher-end models are all available as well.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by HiredArm View Post
    I'm kinda surprised people aren't talking much about the Broncolor Siros models more as an alternative to the Profoto D1/B1. Seemslike a well thought out unit with WiFi compatibility through iOS and Android coming soon. Built in Pocketwizard or RFS 2.1 and HSS on the higher-end models are all available as well.
    I must admit I'm trying to get away from monoblocks now and when the announcement came they did seem impressive but I didn't take much more of an interest passed the initial spec sheets.

    I have since watched the youtube vid's about them and while info is still a bit scarce, they do seem like the best mono on the market. Scoro/Move technology (in the S version) for a fraction of the cost.

    Of course being a mono, everyone will compare them to the Buff Einstein which are much cheaper but use similar technology. However, if you value worldwide availability (very difficult to purchase if you live outside North America which is a fair few people), gorgeous Swiss build quality, proven Bron reliability, an HSS option and a vast modifier range there is no contest IMO.

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by gazwas View Post
    I must admit I'm trying to get away from monoblocks now and when the announcement came they did seem impressive but I didn't take much more of an interest passed the initial spec sheets.

    I have since watched the youtube vid's about them and while info is still a bit scarce, they do seem like the best mono on the market. Scoro/Move technology (in the S version) for a fraction of the cost.

    Of course being a mono, everyone will compare them to the Buff Einstein which are much cheaper but use similar technology. However, if you value worldwide availability (very difficult to purchase if you live outside North America which is a fair few people), gorgeous Swiss build quality, proven Bron reliability, an HSS option and a vast modifier range there is no contest IMO.
    Yeah I thought they were pretty impressive too but diving a bit deeper still makes me want the Profoto modifier heads with the zoom capabilities still. I think it's still the best overall for that but I wanna see what kind of sales Christmas will bring.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by HiredArm View Post
    Yeah I thought they were pretty impressive too but diving a bit deeper still makes me want the Profoto modifier heads with the zoom capabilities still.
    I may be wrong but I never felt the zoom function was all that great on the B1 (same as D1?) as all the light is projected forward due to the covered tube unlike the Pro and Acute heads that have exposed tubes and use the whole dish. Don't get me wrong they do zoom and change the light pattern but not like the traditional Profoto design. Of course there is always the D1/B1 frosted dome but I personally hated them.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Thanks for everyones help in this thread!

    I've now managed to find two really nice condition F4 heads. Previously I always wondered why a premier brand like Bron use plastic for their heads but now having owned some heads for a while it seems blindingly obvious. The heads are unbelievabley robust, they don't really scratch, dent, heat up or weigh all that much - built to last literally years and years. Now need just to locate one more head for my set of three, especially as this arrived yesterday.

    Last edited by gazwas; 25th October 2014 at 01:16.
    Likes 3 Member(s) liked this post

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,187
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Broncolor Pulso studio head differences?

    Congrats and enjoy that Scoro.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •