Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Does anybody know if I can use multiple SB800 or SB900 in A mode on a non-Nikon Camera?
    The SB800 works finein A-mode on my M8 and my Sinar Hy6 - would it also work to remotely control a second or third Nikon flash?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    N.S. Canada
    Posts
    2,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    You ever get an answer on this?
    Last edited by robmac; 9th April 2009 at 12:12.

  3. #3
    Ranger 9
    Guest

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Quote Originally Posted by t_streng View Post
    Does anybody know if I can use multiple SB800 or SB900 in A mode on a non-Nikon Camera?
    The SB800 works finein A-mode on my M8 and my Sinar Hy6 - would it also work to remotely control a second or third Nikon flash?
    I just tried this the other night with an SB-800, two SB-600s, and a Panasonic G1.

    The short answer is "no". :-(

    I put the SB-800 on the G1, set it to Commander mode, and then used the Commander-mode settings to put all three units in A mode.

    When I pressed the shutter release on the G1, the SB-800 didn't even fire.

    I then tried connecting the SB-800's PC outlet to a PocketWizard and firing it via another PocketWizard on the G1. This time the SB-800 would fire, but the other units would not.

    Mind you, this was just one try on one camera which in itself is highly electronified (for example, the G1 knows when you've got a flash unit in the shoe and won't set its shutter speed to higher than its sync speed -- even if the flash unit is non-dedicated.)

    But my take is that using an SB-800 in Commander mode to control other units only works on a Nikon CLS-compatible camera, even if you're using Commander mode to set the flash units to A mode rather than TTL.

    I would guess that you could use as many individual SB-800s or -900s set to A mode if you triggered them with radio or optical slave units. But then each units would only control its own output, just like using non-dedicated "sensor-eye" flash units.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Hacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Have you tried using Nikon's SU-4?

  5. #5
    Ranger 9
    Guest

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hacker View Post
    Have you tried using Nikon's SU-4?
    No, but I'll try that next.

    Prediction: It won't work either. I suspect that the data-processing horsepower needed for auto remote flash resides in the camera body; the flash units and controllers just handle the unit-to-unit communication.

    But I'll check it out and let you know.

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hacker View Post
    Have you tried using Nikon's SU-4?
    As far as I heard unofficially from Nikon SU4 mode should work. I havent tried yet.

  7. #7
    Senior Member atanabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Napa Valley, CA
    Posts
    470
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    If you set the Nikon SB800 to SU4 the unit will act as a "Remote" and you can trigger the flash through any flash unit as the Nikon units also have a photo slave built in. You will then have a manual flash, no TTL, but you can adjust the output from full power to 1/128. The good news is that with digital, you can see the results immediately. This means that any flash, even a cheap unit, mounted on a camera or onboard (tried my C-Lux2) can trigger the flash. Auto mode (by selecting the Mode button) will not work as there is no reference for the flash.

    Regards,
    Al
    Al Tanabe my website https://www.altanabe.com

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ranger 9 View Post
    I just tried this the other night with an SB-800, two SB-600s, and a Panasonic G1.

    The short answer is "no". :-(

    I put the SB-800 on the G1, set it to Commander mode, and then used the Commander-mode settings to put all three units in A mode.

    When I pressed the shutter release on the G1, the SB-800 didn't even fire.

    I then tried connecting the SB-800's PC outlet to a PocketWizard and firing it via another PocketWizard on the G1. This time the SB-800 would fire, but the other units would not.

    Mind you, this was just one try on one camera which in itself is highly electronified (for example, the G1 knows when you've got a flash unit in the shoe and won't set its shutter speed to higher than its sync speed -- even if the flash unit is non-dedicated.)

    But my take is that using an SB-800 in Commander mode to control other units only works on a Nikon CLS-compatible camera, even if you're using Commander mode to set the flash units to A mode rather than TTL.

    I would guess that you could use as many individual SB-800s or -900s set to A mode if you triggered them with radio or optical slave units. But then each units would only control its own output, just like using non-dedicated "sensor-eye" flash units.
    Doesn't work on a Sony A900 either. I tried it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Hacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Set the flash to Manual, not Commander.

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Nikon remote flash with non Nikon Cameras?

    Look at the set-ups from Paramount Cords using regular Pocket Wizards ... If you're just using the flash units on A, this may offer much better distance and reliable firing than anything from the camera companies.

    www.paramountcords.com

    I'm looking to do a set-up with 2 or 3 SB900s ... once I figure out what cords go where.

    The Strobe Dolly Bracket they have is interesting if you also use a flash in the hot shoe.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •