Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice needed: Why would I buy a 50 MP back instead if 39 MP?

Post Thanks / Like

Advice needed: Why would I buy a 50 MP back instead if 39 MP?

Hi there!

My name is Paul and I'm a student interested in all kinds of photography. I live in Switzerland. I stumbled upon your website because of the wealth of medium format information here ... which is amazing to read!

I've been lurking around here for a long time ... and I am humbled by all the great photos shown around here!

I decided to finally post something because I'm in dire need of advice! I'm considering getting a new Hasselblad camera (I've been saving for ages) and saw that there are some amazing deals around specifically those pre-owned CPO cams. Here too, in Europe.

On the other hand I already got a P30 system and am annoyed a little by the crop factor.

So I have two options now: a) trade in for a h4d-50 which will cost me about 22k $ or get a pre-owned 39MP for about 12k $ and still sell my p30. I guess there's a 15k $ difference in money here. I could use some of it to get a few lenses. On the other hand I would like to own new gear that is cutting edge.

So, from functional point of view ... do you think it is worth it going for the h3d-50?

Is this a huge difference between these two systems (excepting the h4d body improvements such as true focus) ?

Phase one is even more crazy, it have to lay down about 24k for a p45+ set.

To me something seems terribly chaotic about the price landscape in MF world ...

Regards and thanks for your thoughts!

Paul

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Advice needed: Why would I buy a 50 MP back instead if 39 MP?

If I read you right, you are prepared to spend $15-25k on being "a little annoyed" with the crop factor? That is an awful lot of money. Is there something else you hope to get from it?