The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Does it still make sense to buy a H3D-22 now?

Makten

I went through the same set of considerations, and just bought a H3D-31. I got into MF digital with an amazing deal on an iXpress back for my 500C, but I had so many missed shots due to focus issues, that when the deal on the H came along it was a no-brainer. It is at the end of it's economic life for pros, but as an amateur, I don't care.

The fat pixel back on my V had a special look which I preferred, the 31 is still a CCD and gets files that look a bit like my old M9, but not as wonderful as the iXpress. Also, 22Mpix would have been enough. However, I have never seen a 22 back for sale in my budget, so that made the decision easy. On the upside, the 31 is one stop faster than the 22, and that makes a difference when using the camera outside of the studio. ISO 400 is fine, 800 could be used when in a pinch and being careful exposing. The lens choice is a bit less obvious than for the V series, because of the expense. I am therefore renting different lenses to figure out what works for me.

I have just started testing my new setup and so far I am happy with the choice I made.
I've also thought about a back for my 500 C/M, but just as you suggest, I doubt that the focus accuracy would be good enough. Especially since it's hard enough to get it right with film. Also, probably the old Planar lens is not really up to the task of using with a smallish sensor compared to true 56x56.