Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 41 of 41

Thread: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

  1. #1
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Well my laptop was crashing with the ZD files and i thought it was a update from Adobe but on my desktop same issue. Here are the symptoms LR will load images than all of a sudden crash for no reason. Than when i reopen the catalog will not show up. Now CS3 when i send a image to export from LR to CS3 the file goes to CS3 but is hidden somewhere and i can't see it. When I go to close CS3 it asks if I want to save the file but have no idea where it is. I'm baffled to say the least. I also can't see thumbnails either on my Mac. Thinks there PC files or something.

    I am thinking of a work around that may work. Maybe Adobe DNG converter and convert to Raw file. Not sure what to think of this but I am very discouraged with this bug going on. To fix it i have to either restart or a hard reboot.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    I can't even see images now. I repaired my permissions and also ran CS3 and repaired it
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Noosa Australia
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Hi Guy,
    The LR 2.0 beta seems to work better with ZD files. One can even see the previews before importing, but only if you insert the card while LR is open.
    Volker

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Thanks i may just have to do this , still issues going on.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Guy, are you loading the cards directly from a reader, or creating a file on your desktop and copying them to that file ... then opening in LR?

  6. #6
    Senior Member irakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    this is your punishment for using mamiya :-P
    try to popen files in C1. if it still crashes, most likely it is the CF card that causes the problem.

  7. #7
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Downloading cards to desktop and or backup Raw drive first. Actually I get no images to view in Cs# or LR i get no Catalog and C1 i get no catalog. i don't think it is the ZD files at this point. One could be a bad card reader and two i loaded a flash drive one the laptop and it may have had a virus or something. because whatever happened on the laptop is now on my desktop. i may just wipe the whole freaking system. Now i have a rush job and i need to play games so i can get LR back. It comes and goes too which makes it worse. I consider myself pretty smart with computers and this smells like a virus. Either that or Adobes updates are screwed up
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member irakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    wow, that sounds pretty bad. before you wipe the system out, connect you machine to a healthy computer as a firewire drive (hold command-t during boot-up) and run virex or something on its main hdd. nice thing about os x is that most virus issues can be cured remotely.

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Yea i am off and on. Have to reboot to reset the software. I loaded LR 2 beta , seems to work but CS3 does not sometimes. Ran cocktail on the machine. I may just uninstall CS3 and reload . Problem is getting everything off is a pain , there are some hidden files on the Mac side
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Man that sucks... have you tried using Time Machine to go back to where you were before you started having problems.

  11. #11
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Maybe migrate assistant back to time machine in time, not sure I can do that. Also Not sure how you can go back to the WHOLE system in Time Machine. I thought it was just files
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  12. #12
    thsinar
    Guest

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Jack or somebody else: it would interest me HOW and WHERE one does find those really hidden CS3 files, when wishing to un-install and re-install CS3.
    I had the same problems, deleting IMO all files, but as soon as I go for installing CS3 it tells that CS3 is already installed!

    Any help?

    Thanks,
    Thierry

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Problem is getting everything off is a pain , there are some hidden files on the Mac side

  13. #13
    Senior Member irakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    thierry, you can find a CS3 uninstall utility on adobe web site. it is freeware.

  14. #14
    thsinar
    Guest

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Thanks so much!

    Thierry

    Quote Originally Posted by irakly View Post
    thierry, you can find a CS3 uninstall utility on adobe web site. it is freeware.

  15. #15
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Maybe migrate assistant back to time machine in time, not sure I can do that. Also Not sure how you can go back to the WHOLE system in Time Machine. I thought it was just files
    Check this link for doing a total restore... you'll need the original Leopard OS DVD utilities. Apparently there is a non-intuitive step to doing this.

    http://tinyurl.com/yqegh3

  16. #16
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Here's a long shot ... If you have any external HDs plugged into the machine(s) remove them.

    There is an ongoing issue with certain HDs that screws with Leopard and causes all sorts of seemingly unrelated issues ... the cause is dated firmware in the Hard Drives according to a bulletin issued by Apple.

    My older Lacie drives have been causing havoc: LR crashing, CS3 slowed to a turtle pace and locking up, and eventually even the whole computer not being able to engage the start-up of the second monitor ... but when I removed the HDs, all was fine.

    The problem is that you need a degree from MIT, a Lawyer, and Sherlock Holmes to update the Lacie drives ... their tech support site is a quagmire.

    Probably not it, but worth a try before re-installing.

    Also shows the fallacy of thinking the use of plug-and-play HD back-up provides long term storage.

  17. #17
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    It has to be a virus in my thinking since it jumped from the laptop to the desktop. I just uninstalled Cs3 and clean swept it too. Going to take out LR than start over again and if don't work than wipe system out.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  18. #18
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Well I may be jinxing myself but in all the years using Mac I've never had a virus or spyware of any kind. Routine maintenance with Disk Warrior is all I've ever done.

  19. #19
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    I should probably stay out of this since I don't have all the information and you're right there working with it, but I have a really hard time accepting that your problems are caused by a virus. It seems unlikely to me that someone would write a virus that effects LR and Photoshop in the ways you describe.

    Are the rest of your applications running smoothly? If the problem is confined to Lightroom and PS, you might try trashing the preferences files for each program.

    A quick trip to the Adobe Forum for Lightroom revealed a bunch of threads from folks on both MAC and PC having issues with the latest upgrades. It's possible that the "bad" upgrade recently that required an uninstall may have left bad things in its wake. It might be worth a trip over to those forums for some clues.

    I wish you luck and hope you get back up soon.

  20. #20
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Tim what makes me think it is a virus or a corrupted file was we used a thumb drive in Carmel to download from the attendees there files and when I put it in , weird stuff happened . i threw the damn thing away. But I backed my firewire drive from the laptop to the desktop and it happened here. So i am reinstalling Cs3 now and LR but i will go back to the laptop which i have not fixed yet and wipe out this firewire drive . Which maybe floating with a bug or a corrupted file. This is the only thing I can think of since it is on both computers. So let's keep fingers crossed and see what happens . Updating Cs3 now
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  21. #21
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Well LR is working fine now but CS3 to get it to work I have to reboot sometimes. When i go to open a file I can't see the file like normal BUT it is open and I can see it in the info window. But no go to see normally unless i reboot. Bug, Virus and i tried almost everything short of redoing the whole freaking system. Talk about annoying.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  22. #22
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Did you use Migration assistant to load your apps on the machine in question?

  23. #23
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    No Tim . I completely removed Cs3 and LR and redid them from disk and up dates . Frankly i have a feeling it is the recent update from Adobe Raw 1.4.1 . I may rip it out and see if that is the case . If i reinstall the system i will go from nothing and start all over again. Not going to play around
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  24. #24
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    I feel your pain. Sounds like a 3-glasses-of-red problem. Good luck with it!

  25. #25
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Thanks Tim . i will have to decide what to do .
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Guy

    I installed lightroom 1.4.1 and cameraraw 4.11 with no issues whatsoever. They are installed with Tiger on my desktop machine and leopard on my 17' macbook pro.

    just for your information

    Woody

  27. #27
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Thanks Woody. I may call Adobe but that maybe a fruitless battle. I hate when i have to tell them what is wrong. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  28. #28
    sakulju
    Guest

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Thanks Woody. I may call Adobe but that maybe a fruitless battle. I hate when i have to tell them what is wrong. LOL
    I second that it must have something to do with Your new updates or upgrades.

    I have a Quad G5 running 10.4.11 / Lightroom 1.3.1 / CS3 10.0.1 and no problems with ZD-files. None.

    Im usually always couple of updates behind, just because Im ubersceptic to run latest but not so tested software. I guess I might go for 10.5 early next year...

    I really hope You will get all sorted soon.

    Sami

  29. #29
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Thanks . Well I did forget my user file preferences . So now i think i finally cleaned this out and will try again. Adobe really screws folks with putting files everywhere. Mac's are simple to get rid of a program but not CS3 . Stuff is everywhere. This is the one thing I miss is a true uninstaller.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  30. #30
    thsinar
    Guest

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Guy,

    I have found in the "Utilities", in the "Adobe Installers" folder, that there is a "Add or Remove Adobe Creative Suite" tool.

    I used it to un-install and it worked perfectly to delete all files spread everywhere. Unless that is done, CS3 won't install and tell you that it is already installed.

    Best regards,
    Thierry

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Thanks . Well I did forget my user file preferences . So now i think i finally cleaned this out and will try again. Adobe really screws folks with putting files everywhere. Mac's are simple to get rid of a program but not CS3 . Stuff is everywhere. This is the one thing I miss is a true uninstaller.

  31. #31
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Got that one, Thanks
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  32. #32
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    I think i found a way to back up to a certain point in Time machine. Open your time machine drive and dump everything in the trash until the date you need in my case April 14th the day i left for Carmel. My system was stable and no issues. So i dump everything after that . Than take the leopard disk and go ahead and reinstall the OS after cleaning off the drive which i am doing right now on my laptop. Than load OS and than use time machine to migrate from.

    How does that sound
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  33. #33
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    How does that sound
    Sounds like you are running Windows

  34. #34
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Adobe really screws you with putting files everywhere about the only program I know on a Mac that does this . Otherwise it is simple as pie. I think this trick may work will know in 30 minutes. If it does will do the same to desktop. I may have found the culprit or at least a idea. Used the same cards for Nikon and ZD. So hard reformatting going on and dedicated to each system.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  35. #35
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    T=I think it is fixed . I have the laptop back to normal it looks like so cloning it to a external and wipe out desktop and clone over. lesson learn you can use time machine to a certain point back to migrate from but need to get rid of everything newer first. second lesson just don't mix cards between system. there cheap enough to dedicate them.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  36. #36
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    I'm back. Look out. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  37. #37
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Good news and good info on Time Machine.

  38. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    I'm back. Look out. LOL
    Obvious question now.....are you straightened out on your Mamiya cards v. Nikon cards, and you can now work in LR and PS again? Did you lose any image files from the cards?

    May be too much to troubleshoot, but do you think you know the source of the problem? Was it different formats on the cards? Was it something that did get downloaded from that thumbdrive? Just trying to understand what may have gone so ugly for you. If it was something like a corrupted plist file that came about because of trying to read cross-formatted CF cards or something, that would be good to know.

    BTW, I agree with the concept of not mixing cards across different camera systems.

    LJ

  39. #39
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Not sure I am totally back still some issue with CS3. I am really not sure what happened along the way . I did not lose any images. But my suspect troubles seem to be several possibilities. Corrupted cards. Now They all have been reformatted and partitioned to Fat 32 and dedicated to each system. Never do that again and recommend no one do that , just dedicate the cards . There so cheap now. Now my other suspect is downloading Adobe Raw 1.4.1 and it may have hung during download and corrupted the system. Now the weird part about all of this is it happened on the laptop in Carmel. i downloaded my images on to a firewire external portable drive. Than downloaded to my home desktop when i got home. The puzzle is how the hell did it jump from my laptop to my desktop. The only common thing is the images i download. Did they carry a corrupted file or tag from the laptop. I really don't know and that is the weird part. i can't pin it down. Now those images are not on the OS drive anymore and I have not touched them or loaded them in LR so there off the main system. My new way of working is LR and export to a folder and NOT open in CS3 on export. This way i can have all the files developed into a folder than fire up Cs3 and work on them more. My only guarantee to get things to work. The main issue in Cs3 is the images open but i cannot see them visually . Now i can see a image in the navigator window . i can run the RGB tool around the screen and i can see the RGB values change but there is no image there and when i get past the image size that normally shows the RGB value goes away. So PS thinks there is a image there and if I make a change say convert to cmyk and close the PS it will ask if I want to save. i have a freaking ghost here. The weirdest damn thing i ever seen or better yet not seen. I'm pretty good at this stuff and it has me totally baffled. Even calling Adobe would do no good. They will just have me on the phone for 8 hours and tell me the same thing i already know reload Cs3 . Well i have done that 5 times now. I will just work like this and hopefully somehow by magic it may straighten out. Tried of chasing this ghost
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  40. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Thanks, Guy. Sorry to bring up the ugly part, but it is interesting to try to figure out what to avoid doing next time.

    On the images that are coming up in CS3 with no image, but data..... Silly thing to ask, but did some sort of layer get created that is obscuring the background image, yet your pointer is working on that background or something? That just sound too strange. I sometimes find myself working on the "wrong layer" and wonder why nothing is happening, but at least I still see the image. If there was a blank mask layer, or if your background layer were turned off (the eyeball), it might produce the result you are describing, but honestly, it just sounds too strange.

    LJ

  41. #41
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Major Lightroom and CS# issue with ZD images

    Yea that was my thought too was a layer turned off. I tried everything there , will keep playing and trying to figure this ghost out but I am not reloading the system again.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •