The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Travel kit that won't kill my back

tom in mpls

I have been using various Canon cropped and FF dSLR's for years, now with the 5D. I am just getting into the MF game now with the Contax 645 system. For an upcoming trip to Europe with the family I want to bring the Contax, but the difference in weight is rearing it's ugly head. I have learned from experience that when traveling, a heavy kit doesn't make it. My mantra is "lighter is better". I can use a backpack, but would prefer to use a shoulder bag which of course presents serious limits on the kit. A nice midrange zoom was my preference with Canons. But I don't know now...

What do you recommend? I have the 55, 45-90, 140, and 1.4 mutar. My current options are:

55 alone
45-90 alone
55 plus 140 (with Mutar)

I am leaning towards the single prime option.

I have never traveled with only a single prime. Will I get too frustrated with the 55 alone?

Last edited:

David K

Workshop Member
Tom,
If you are going to bring the Contax kit to Europe you owe it to yourself to bring more than one lens. Doesn't mean you have to carry it around all day, but at least you've got it with you if you want it. The zoom is heavy, if you must leave something behind leave that. Frankly, if weight is your main concern, the M8 and a couple of lenses is the way to go.

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
Personally, I traveled exactly one time with a MF system on a family vacation and decided that would be my last -- unless it was a dedicated photography trip. Hence, my current travel kit of choice is a pair of M8's and 4 or 5 lenses.