Site Sponsors
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 51 to 83 of 83

Thread: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

  1. #51
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    However, went to an old version of PtGui, and in 20 seconds I got this.

    The only problem is, it started with three scenes of the POTOMAC RIVER
    Jack, is that you on the top left?

    BTW, say again how you can get the larger image to show here?
    Last edited by gogopix; 25th January 2015 at 17:22.

  2. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,008
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    Well I for one need some help. I tried three times. First time in auto, and it crashed (wanted to tell on itself to microsoft!)
    next tries perspective and it didnt blend it just stuck the three together
    then went back to auto-same crash

    Maybe is can't handle 28mm?
    This is getting us off the original topic, however that won't stop me from replying. Since one is simultaneously processing a number of huge files, I assume it requires a very large amount of RAM. Could that be the problem?

  3. #53
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by tom in mpls View Post
    This is getting us off the original topic, however that won't stop me from replying. Since one is simultaneously processing a number of huge files, I assume it requires a very large amount of RAM. Could that be the problem?
    I have 4 GB

    It didnt seem to phase PTgiu

  4. #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,008
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    I have 4 GB

    It didnt seem to phase PTgiu
    Perhaps CS3 needs more headroom to store all the intermediate data. Maybe time to pop for the next 4 gigs.

  5. #55
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by tom in mpls View Post
    Perhaps CS3 needs more headroom to store all the intermediate data. Maybe time to pop for the next 4 gigs.
    unfortunately i am on a pc and it can only address 4. actually, MS only make 2 GB available to applications.

    maybe its time for a Mac

  6. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,008
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    unfortunately i am on a pc and it can only address 4. actually, MS only make 2 GB available to applications.

    maybe its time for a Mac
    Not enough RAM. I believe that Adobe makes it easy to transfer your license across the platforms. Macs rule!

  7. #57
    Senior Member irakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    make sure that photoshop scratch disk is not assigned to your primary drive.

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    Well I for one need some help. I tried three times. First time in auto, and it crashed (wanted to tell on itself to microsoft!)
    next tries perspective and it didnt blend it just stuck the three together
    then went back to auto-same crash

    Maybe is can't handle 28mm?

  8. #58
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    Well I for one need some help. I tried three times. First time in auto, and it crashed (wanted to tell on itself to microsoft!)
    next tries perspective and it didnt blend it just stuck the three together
    then went back to auto-same crash

    Maybe is can't handle 28mm?
    You have a memory allocation issue in CS3. Try setting your memory to below 70%, like 67% and set cache levels to 6. Auto is fine, but select perspective on the second screen...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  9. #59
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post

    BTW, say again how you can get the larger image to show here?
    You cannot attach it, but have to link directly to it from the album area -- attachments are more limited in size.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  10. #60
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645


  11. #61
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    ok, how do I get the image at the link to SHOW here?
    That is, Show the way Jack's did, as oversized)

  12. #62
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    You can go 1200 pixels wide
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #63
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    ok, how do I get the image at the link to SHOW here?
    That is, Show the way Jack's did, as oversized)
    all image posting options explained here:

    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=54

    But the short version is you use the image insertion icon, little yellow mountain with sun in it and paste the location link of your image in the dialog that pops up when you click it. Use the image location ending in .jpg, NOT the URL from the address bar. This one is taken directly from your portfolio here on GetDPI where BTW we give you the image location link in a line beneath the image. I simply copied that:

    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  14. #64
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Muchas gracias

  15. #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    keep those posting those panoramas boys! I love 'em.

  16. #66
    Senior Member Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London/Kiev
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterA View Post
    keep those posting those panoramas boys! I love 'em.
    Ok, here's one from Tallinn. Stitched, of course. Rollei 6008AF, Sinar eMotion22, 40mm f3.5 Schneider lens, ISO 25, 6 seconds, f8.


  17. #67
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Love this shot Graham
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  18. #68
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Very nice Graham!

  19. #69
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by foto-z View Post
    Ok, here's one from Tallinn. Stitched, of course. Rollei 6008AF, Sinar eMotion22, 40mm f3.5 Schneider lens, ISO 25, 6 seconds, f8.
    Impressive, Graham.

    I always thought wide angle lenses were not to be used when stitching.

  20. #70
    Senior Member EH21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by BJNY View Post
    Excellent, Graham.

    I always thought wide angle lenses were not to be used when stitching.
    Yeah nice Graham,
    Can we ask how many frames you put together here?

    and BJNY,
    I've had great success stitching images with the 40mm on my Rollei 6008 using autopano software. And it seems to work for Graham too.

  21. #71
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    BTW Eric,
    Please post some images made with your 120mm Imagon.
    You're making some nice acquisitions via eBay recently.
    Billy

  22. #72
    Senior Member Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London/Kiev
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by EH21 View Post
    Yeah nice Graham,
    Can we ask how many frames you put together here?
    I think it was 5.

  23. #73
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Graham,
    May I ask what your camera height was to avoid getting excess foreground?
    Billy

  24. #74
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Great shot Graham... very special look to that photo.

  25. #75
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    MMM - panoramas RULE!

  26. #76
    Senior Member EH21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by BJNY View Post
    BTW Eric,
    Please post some images made with your 120mm Imagon.
    You're making some nice acquisitions via eBay recently.
    Billy
    Will do - I'm going to put up a blog either on my site or on blogger with shots from all my Rollei lenses soon, and I hope others using that system will contribute too.

    btw - I did not buy the Imagon on ebay, but maybe you noticed I did buy a 150mm tele-xenar PQS on ebay today?


    Oh yeah - here is a pano shot that I did with the Rollei and 40mm f/3.5 that I don't think could have been done with a longer lens. It's of a wall of graffiti in San Francisco. I was able to walk down the sidewalk and take shots of the wall and stitch them together - a longer lens would not have been possible since there would then be parked cars, light posts and parking meters in the way. This shot is the assembled output (scaled down) from autopano. I don't remember how many images but about 12 maybe more? I have a trimmed up and straightened version somewhere but this should be enough to show what's possible. I just walked down the street with the camera and took shots handheld not paying attention to anything in particular because I didn't get the idea to stitch them until later - some of them were from different distances because I had to move in closer in one spot and I wasn't thinking about keeping the same camera height or angle which would certainly have helped and I would be more careful next time, nonetheless it worked. So I think its really possible with the 40mm. I don't know if that means any wide will do for stitching or if its just the 40mm but obviously Graham and I have used it with success.



    Eric
    Last edited by EH21; 20th April 2008 at 22:37.

  27. #77
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Just as well I have one of those 30 inch monitors to enjoy these magnificent panoRAMAS!!

  28. #78
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    how did you get an image greater than 1200 pixels to post?

  29. #79
    Senior Member EH21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    It's linked not uploaded here - sorry is it too big? The full size one is just huge - 1.2Gb on one layer. I should add that all that curved distortion that you see in the pano I posted is from the stitch software - not from the lens. That Schneider 40mm/3.5 is really a great lens.

  30. #80
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by foto-z View Post
    I think it was 5.
    Graham

    I have never been to Talinn but where are all the cars? Don't think I have ever seen a cityscape with so few. Wonderful shot though

    Woody

  31. #81
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    how did you get an image greater than 1200 pixels to post?
    You can use the linking feature I explained above to link an image from anywhere. At GetDPI we limit the final upload size to 1200 pixels in any dimension for two reasons: 1) It saves bandwidth and helps keeps the site more responsive and 2) helps prevent image theft... On image theft, you should see the member's 1200 pixel jpeg I "stole," processed then printed at 16x24... Looked almost as good as the same print from the raw file made at our Carmel workshop.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  32. #82
    Senior Member EH21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Yes points taken on size. I like to link to my files because then I can still control them and I almost never post a link to something I would worry about being taken. In this case I didn't post the final just the wip.

  33. #83
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    N.S. Canada
    Posts
    2,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which Digital Back for my Contax 645

    Quote Originally Posted by EH21 View Post
    It's linked not uploaded here - sorry is it too big? The full size one is just huge - 1.2Gb on one layer. I should add that all that curved distortion that you see in the pano I posted is from the stitch software - not from the lens. That Schneider 40mm/3.5 is really a great lens.
    I was just thinking how LITTLE distortion I saw in the shot considering the WA and being shot on the go as it were. Nicely done (nice art work as well)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •