Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Starting to play with some S2 files

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Starting to play with some S2 files

Let me start off....I am not an expert at this and it is not a scientific test. I used the S2 for about three days and made a number of shots in the field and can show what I ended up with. For instance, take this first scene in very bright high contrast light. Three exposures (all at f4.8). First shot, I just took in the whole scene to see how the camera would expose. I then exposed for the sofa to see how blown the sky would be. Third time I exposed for the sky to see how well I could bring up the interior shadows. In the end this was a good test for me to see what information was out there in the shadows.

The fourth and fifth images are virtual copies in LR with adjustments noted.

All hand held

1/500

1/250

1/1500

1/500 with recovery slider at 100

1/1500 with fill light slider at 50

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Starting to play with some S2 files

Hi Terry,

The underexpose and then fill shot looks best to me from these - how do they look to you full size? Conventional wisdom would have us expose to the right and then pull back the highlights so as to retain shadow detail...

Best

Tim

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Yes Tim,
    That is the one that is best the 1/500 shot is OK and the sky isn't actually blown and I can get stuff out of the shadows but there is enough still in the shadows of the 1/1500 shot that I would use it. It is just different for me to see how much I can pull from the shadows. There were a lot of spots like this the first morning I had the camera so it was a good way to learn.

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Terry,

for me the first shot looks best, maybe not all the details in shadow and sky you could get if you exposed towards one or the other end, but it looks just ok.