The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Starting to play with some S2 files

Terry

Let me start off....I am not an expert at this and it is not a scientific test. I used the S2 for about three days and made a number of shots in the field and can show what I ended up with. For instance, take this first scene in very bright high contrast light. Three exposures (all at f4.8). First shot, I just took in the whole scene to see how the camera would expose. I then exposed for the sofa to see how blown the sky would be. Third time I exposed for the sky to see how well I could bring up the interior shadows. In the end this was a good test for me to see what information was out there in the shadows.

The fourth and fifth images are virtual copies in LR with adjustments noted.

All hand held

1/500

1/250

1/1500

1/500 with recovery slider at 100

1/1500 with fill light slider at 50

tashley

Subscriber Member
Hi Terry,

The underexpose and then fill shot looks best to me from these - how do they look to you full size? Conventional wisdom would have us expose to the right and then pull back the highlights so as to retain shadow detail...

Best

Tim

Terry

Yes Tim,
That is the one that is best the 1/500 shot is OK and the sky isn't actually blown and I can get stuff out of the shadows but there is enough still in the shadows of the 1/1500 shot that I would use it. It is just different for me to see how much I can pull from the shadows. There were a lot of spots like this the first morning I had the camera so it was a good way to learn.

ptomsu

Workshop Member
Hi Terry,