Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Updating C1 Pro

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Updating C1 Pro

    Hi all C1 pro users.

    I have C1 Pro but havent updated since version 4.8.1\

    What do I have to do to udate to latest version? Are there any instructions anywhere? Any bugs in updating I shoudl be aware of?

    The reason I ask is because when I got the programme I had a few issues installing - and have forgotten what they were and I dont remeber my password or codes etc.

    C1 says I have one update left.

    Thanks
    Pete

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    I seem to remember some instructions given here in the forum about disposing of previous versions and preferences prior to installing a C1 Pro update, but to be honest, I'm lazy and have never bothered. It always seems to install fine for me without lots of extra fussing around.

    Just go to the Phase One site and find the software downloads section and download the version you wish to install. Once done, simply drag it to your applications folder and say yes when it asks if you wish to replace the older version. When you start the new one up, there will be a window in which you can enter your serial number. After that, you're done.

    Your mileage may vary of course, but this has worked for me multiple times.

  3. #3
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    As far as I remember you may need to deactivate one or two of your activations if you have no activations left ... ?
    At least that was what I did about three months ago. I think I recall doing it this way:

    Go to phaseone.com

    Click on My account


  4. #4
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Try your usual E-mail address and your usual non-dramatic (non-financial) password





    If you cannot remember the password, click "I forgot my password"
    - then they'll probably send you your password, or a new one ...

  5. #5
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Choose License Management

  6. #6
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    In the menu box choose the appropriate License Code (LE or PRO version)
    - now in the Activation History you should be able to see how many upgrades and activations you have left.

    If you have no activations left, you may need to deactivate one of your present activations running on one of your computers.

    Click the Deactivate button to the right of the relevant License Code if you have no vacant activations left, in order to free an activation



  7. #7
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Choose Downloads in the left menu

    Chose Capture One 5 & 5 PRO and download the relevant version from there





    - - - - -





    Hopefully wiser members will chime in and tell you if there are some details I have forgotten - or if I remember some of it wrong ... /Steen

  8. #8
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Peter - uninstall instructions here:
    http://xchange.phaseone.com/content/...4&languageid=1

  9. #9
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Nice C1 install tutorial -- we may just stick this thread!
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Steen - thanks! and everyone else.

    I am hoping that M9 files are handled better on C1 than Lightroom ..not ready to try Aperture 3 yet..a mountain too high - something about Lightroom colour management - it doesnt do it for me just yet..

  11. #11
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterA View Post
    Steen - thanks! and everyone else.

    I am hoping that M9 files are handled better on C1 than Lightroom ..not ready to try Aperture 3 yet..a mountain too high - something about Lightroom colour management - it doesnt do it for me just yet..
    I think you'll be very pleased, especially for higher ISO shots.

    But I would rather have you post your opinion after you've converted some files and printed than insert my own :-).

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Leaf, Cambo, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
    RSS Feed: Subscribe
    Buy Capture One at 10% off
    Personal Work

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    66
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterA View Post
    Steen - thanks! and everyone else.

    I am hoping that M9 files are handled better on C1 than Lightroom ..not ready to try Aperture 3 yet..a mountain too high - something about Lightroom colour management - it doesnt do it for me just yet..
    Peter

    Have you tried adobe's DNG profile editor with Lightroom to build custom profiles? I get great results with M9 and Sinar files -- definitely worth a look !

    Cheers JOHN

  13. #13
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by jps View Post
    Have you tried adobe's DNG profile editor with Lightroom to build custom profiles? I get great results with M9 and Sinar files -- definitely worth a look !
    That can improve color (though it's nice to not have to do that), but the rest...

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Doug - i will load up C1 Pro - I ahev one upgrade to go tonight..

    from memory you sent me my numers etc a couple of years ago- I no longer have these ( of course) LOL do I need them or do I just do teh straight download and install over what i have?

    pete

  15. #15
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Pete - follow the uninstall instructions - I posted a link above.

    You may need your License Key. If you do not have it, log on to the Phase One site as Steen directs above, go to LICENSE MANAGEMENT, and you can find your license key there.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    CMB - Thanks ..just picked up a Leica 50lux
    aspherical ...man oh man..!!!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Updating C1 Pro



    Thanks everyone for the help and links I followed the link from cmb and Steen and everything proceeded perfectly.

    couldnt help posting an early evening shot from a garden scene with the new M9 and 50 lux aspherical c1 settings were zero sharpening - i tested for near mid and far focus this is near focus - I think spot on.

    The M9 has put a smile back on my dial - full frame and all my M lenses are behaving as I was used to them from film days!

  18. #18
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Peter C1 does like the M9 very much . If you ever get the chance read my review on the M9 which everything was done in C1

    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10265
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  19. #19
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    BTW if I had it my way i would have my Phase system and a M9 with 3 lenses . Of course i would also be in divorce court or a baseball bat firmly placed in my forehead. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Guy I really dont know how you have managed to control yourself - you know you want one and I know you will get one..

    It has taken me this many months to source one down here..worth the wait for sure.

  21. #21
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Very simple. MARRIED with children. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  22. #22
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Updating C1 Pro

    Actually when I see a used one for 5k it might make me jump. Than again by that time i maybe 10 years older
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •