Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: PhaseOne and iPad

  1. #1
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    PhaseOne and iPad

    I've been experimenting using the iPad as a backup device, and for most raw files the iPad can read and display them. getting image files onto the iPad isn't too challenging with the Camera Connection Kit. SDHC cards use the one adaptor, and for CF cards my cheap Belkin USB card reader plugged into the USB adaptor works just fine.

    The iPad will import and display nearly every raw format out there (those supported by the OS which means those supported by Aperture). Unfortunately PhaseOne files are not supported.

    However, if you have the Phase back set up to use the .TIF extension instead of the .IIQ extension, the iPad does recognize them and allow you to import them as image files. You can see a thumbnail of the image in the import screen, but only a generic icon after that (no image).

    You can either use iPhoto to pull them off the iPad and then move them to a folder location of your choice to open them in C1, or in my case Lightroom will allow you to import the files directly from the iPad much like a CF card. Lightroom doesn't display a preview of the images in the import dialog, but after importing I verified the files are copies of the original raws including filenames, and lightroom will build the previews.

    One caveat so far is there is no good way to organize the files, other than allow lightroom to separate them into subfolders based on date.

    For dSLR shooters who shoot Jpeg+Raw the iPad supports this very well, it only shows one image with jpeg+raw displayed when importing and in the photo app, but when you pull them off of the ipad through lightroom both files get copied.

    Too soon to say how useful this is, but all of this functionality requires no 3rd party support. I couldn't get C1 to see the iPad but guessing it wouldn't take much to change that.

    Hopefully somehow the PhaseOne backs show up a little more on Apples radar (I believe aperture supports hasselblad raw) so they might put in some raw support. I can see the iPad being a pretty nice field backup/cataloging device integrating very well with full desktop apps in the future.

    But even without that, it may be useful as a CF card backup device when in the field. 10 hour battery life and 1.5 pounds is certainly a sweet combination.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    240
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    How about Hassy shooters? I cannot imagine Phocus would run on iPad.

  3. #3
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Quote Originally Posted by P. Chong View Post
    How about Hassy shooters? I cannot imagine Phocus would run on iPad.
    You can't really edit the images on the iPad, just use it for offloading your cards/backup, and if the formats are supported, you can view them including zooming to 1:1 to check things like focus. No Phocus, Lightroom, Adobe Camera Raw type stuff.

    Currently listed as supported by Aperture for hasselblad are the CF-22, CF-39,CFV-16, H3D-31, H3D 31II, and H3DII-50. The iPad may very well be able to render those raw files and allow them to be viewed.

    Alas, no such support for Phase files. The other problem I've found is you can't delete a phase file from the iPad itself. Since it won't render into an image, you don't get a delete option. Only choice is to import them to a host computer from the iPad, and have the host computer delete after importing.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    340
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    If I could tether my H10 to an Ipad...I'd buy one. :-)

  5. #5
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Tethered is the interesting aspect for me.
    My wish list would be to extend the functionality of the back by providing both live view for tech camera focusing as well as tethered shooting in the field.
    there is a bit of software requires as well as the problem of the firewire cable..
    -bob

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    there is a bit of software requires as well as the problem of the firewire cable..
    -bob
    Except you have an USB cable...

  7. #7
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Quote Originally Posted by xpixel View Post
    Except you have an USB cable...
    It is always the plugs LOL
    -bob

  8. #8
    KWR Phase One
    Guest

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Hi . . .
    Well all I can say is I bought several iPads and sent them to Denmark. I know our guys there are looking at all sorts of possibilities. Give it some time and send me your suggestions. Iíll pass them on.

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    First Kevin we need to be able to shoot Raw and Jpeg. That way a jpeg can be used as the Ipad version or even backup to our raws. This function even without the Ipad is a good feature to have. If we can get that as the base than the Ipad can more receptive to tethered or wireless given what the engineers come up with. I think we need that as the base than take it from there. This is basically a firmware change with no hardware involved.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    156
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    I heared the ipad is also useful as:

    - a mirror to shave yourself in the field
    - a nice breakfast table
    - a ground plate to put your laptop on
    - an object of social interest to figure out what it can be used for (as in this thread)

    Good to know its an Apple, so it must be useful, ........ somehow.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Quote Originally Posted by T.Karma View Post
    I heared the ipad is also useful as:

    - a mirror to shave yourself in the field
    - a nice breakfast table
    - a ground plate to put your laptop on
    - an object of social interest to figure out what it can be used for (as in this thread)

    Good to know its an Apple, so it must be useful, ........ somehow.


  12. #12
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Quote Originally Posted by KWR Phase One View Post
    Hi . . .
    Well all I can say is I bought several iPads and sent them to Denmark. I know our guys there are looking at all sorts of possibilities. Give it some time and send me your suggestions. Iíll pass them on.
    C1 Lite ... let me import the images, tag them with keywords and ratings, and then let C1 import them to my hard drive.

    And I like Guy's suggestion as well.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    I just dont get it. A MacBook Air would be much more suitable and with a beautiful 13" screen, plenty of storage, full keyboard and not much heavier.

    Or, better to get one of the 750 GB harddrives with image viewer for that purpose.

    When there is Ipad "2" with truly functional storage (500gb), legitimate inputs, and enough processing power to render/review/delete and catalog on the road, then we'll have something . . .

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Reykjavik, Iceland
    Posts
    2,310
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Well, 499 versus 1499 is a fairly large jump in price. That might be one factor. Three times the price, it is also almost exactly twice the weight, 50% thicker, 1.5" wider, and 2.5" longer. While I also think it is a much more capable solution, it is still not quite the same sort of thing. I can see why people would prefer something like the ipad...
    My photos are here: http://www.stuartrichardson.com and more recent work here: http://stuartrichardson.tumblr.com/ Please have a look at my book!
    My lab is here: http://www.customphotolab.is and on facebook

  15. #15
    DougDolde
    Guest

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    But $499 only gets you 16GB and probably less considering what the system and apps take up. I bought a couple Lexar 16GB cards for $200, a lot cheaper than an iPad.

    You can buy a refurbed MacBook Air for $1200 with a 64GB SSD. But then you need to compare the $699 iPad.

  16. #16
    Optechs Digital
    Guest

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Wayne,

    Thanks for your very informative post. It looks to me like these devices will end up being quite useful in photography.


    Kevin,

    If the Phase/Leaf engineers can find anyway to feed live video either wired or wireless to the Ipad and/or Iphone can you imagine how excited the Alpa and other tech camera users will be. Not to mention all the new business that this feature would generate.

    Keeping my fingers crossed.

    Paul

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    230
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: PhaseOne and iPad

    Hi-

    It seems to me that an iPad could be usefull in this application if it was an entirely different device.

    How about a 6x8 in hi rez lcd with a fire wire cord 1GB memory and C1 raw converter implemented in firmware. I'd guess about a pound and parts cost of less than $200.

    $*.. ! I'd pay 10 times that.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •