Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    132
    Post Thanks / Like

    Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    As I continue to read whatever I can find on real world use of the Phase P21 and P21+, it looks like I will ultimately choose one of these units for my Contax 645. I am also finding that some writers out there note that these units have problems with moire. For those of you who have used these backs, would you please share your own experience with moire or other problems/challenges with these backs? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    Ray,
    What is the subject matter that you shoot most? I can speak from experience on the PhaseOne equipment that there is very little occurrence of moire from the files produced from their backs and used in conjunction with Capture One.
    If there is an occurrence of moire you can use the moire tool right within Capture One to remove the moire from the RAW file. This tool creates a moire mask and can then be applied while shooting similar type fabrics or batch applied to multiple raw files as a batch.
    I will post in a little bit a some sample screen shots of the tool working if you are not familiar with its operation.
    Also if you have a sample piece of fabric that you have found to be a particular problem with your existing work-flow we would be more than happy to capture it for you with the back of your choice and send you the raws to play with.
    Keep an eye out for the samples, just need to jump over to my demo system here.
    Lance Schad
    Capture Integration - Miami/Atlanta
    305-394-3196 cell | 305-534-5702 office
    Capture Integration
    [email protected]

  3. #3
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    Here are two screen grabs before and after moire removal. I also have a video I am uploading now to YouTube showing how to use the tool.
    Lance Schad
    Capture Integration - Miami/Atlanta
    305-394-3196 cell | 305-534-5702 office
    Capture Integration , Phase One Dealer of the Year
    [email protected]

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    132
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    Hi Lance, thank you. I do a lot of nature work and some architectural work. Lots of my work focuses on detail and pattern. When you get a moment, you're welcome to take a look at the kind of work I do at: http://www.two-hawks.com . I currently shoot with a Canon 1Ds2 and a Leica M8. To date, I have been using LightRoom and Photoshop for processing with very good results. I've used C1, but I prefer LR.

    I have only had a few problems with moire on the 1Ds2, and more frequently with the M8, due, I suspect to the M8 not having an AA filter. Most of the time, the moire goes away or is lessened in final prints. My intent is to continue with the kind of work I do and to add portraiture services (which is my primary concern about moire related to clothing).

    Here's a link to an article that references experience with the P20+, not the P21 or P21+: http://diglloyd.com/diglloyd/free/Ph...20+/index.html

    Thank you.

  5. #5
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    Here is the YouTube link:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGbAdoYg4Dw
    It shows the menu choices and worklfow for using the tool.
    The video compression does not do it as much justice as the previous images I posted.
    It was a fun little exercise though to show examples of a proof of concept via a different medium.
    L
    Lance Schad
    Capture Integration - Miami/Atlanta
    305-394-3196 cell | 305-534-5702 office
    Capture Integration , Phase One Dealer of the Year
    [email protected]

  6. #6
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    Lance - thank you for all the information. Is the Moire Removal Tool only available in the MAC version? I am running Capture One Pro ver. 3.7.8.231 on Windows and am not aware of the presence of this tool.

  7. #7
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Phase P21/P21+ Moire?

    Quote Originally Posted by cmb_ View Post
    Lance - thank you for all the information. Is the Moire Removal Tool only available in the MAC version? I am running Capture One Pro ver. 3.7.8.231 on Windows and am not aware of the presence of this tool.
    Yes it is one of the mac only tools. you can use the plug in for Photoshop though.
    I believe that the Pro version of 4.0 will address all of these differences between the platforms.

    L

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •