Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Dicomed Bigshot

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Smile Dicomed Bigshot

    Hi all,
    I know someone who has a Dicomed Bigshot 4000, they haven't used it for ages (Years in fact) but apparently it is in perfect working order. Now I know it is old, but I shoot almost daily with a Leaf CantareXY, so I can handle legacy stuff. I also have a Valeo17, and an AptusII5, but the Bigshot has always intrigued me and I remember that it has popped up now and then on the forums, with at-least two people mentioning they used to have one. I am thinking of using it for personal projects, so no huge production pressure, I guess my question is; Will the huge chip size be worth the hassle? Is there a huge hassle, or is it just a case of stepping back in time and working a bit slower,like we used to?

    Any replies appreciated,

    Cheers

  2. #2
    mrebay
    Guest

    Lightbulb Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    could you tell me how much he wants for it thanks

  3. #3
    Senior Member Thierry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    329
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    The OP posted this more than 1 year ago!

    In any case, I did never see the Bigshot working without flaw. I had one in our studios at Sinar, from the first serie, but then Dicomed stopped the production/research for it and it disappeared.

    Thierry

    Quote Originally Posted by mrebay View Post
    could you tell me how much he wants for it thanks

  4. #4
    Senior Member Stefan Steib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lindenberg im Allgäu
    Posts
    1,294
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    Not to forget the necessary Jack hammer SCSI3 card with the maximum 1,5m long cable and the extensions for MacOS(NO OSX SUPPORT!!!) that would load or not, making using it a lottery.
    This was no fun to use, it´s good this is history, I would not give a recommendation to anybody to use this today, maybe for historical research if you have a complete setup, but would you like to beam yourself back to 1996 ?
    We used this for about a year but then could give it back - fortunately !!!

    Regards
    Stefan

  5. #5
    Senior Member Quentin_Bargate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Saffron Walden, UK
    Posts
    1,983
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    58

    Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    Dicomed were ahead of the curve with both the Bigshot and their scanning backs. Pity they went bust (Betterlight of course taking over their scanning backs and developing them - the original; Dicomed field pro was flaky but awesome). It would be fun to play around with a Bigshot, but who offers support for them now? I suggest borrowing it for few days to see how it works.
    Quentin Bargate
    Director of Bargate Murray, Law Firm of the Year 2012 - 2017, ”leading individual”, Chambers HNW guide, 2017, Photographer

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    Mike Collette @ Betterlight still offers support for Dicomed backs. My FieldPro still works just fine. I'd love to get a Betterlight 6K, but two things dissuade me:

    1: My Dicomed still works just as good as new.
    2: The cost/return ratio on even a used 6K doesn't make business sense.

  7. #7
    Senior Member EH21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    wow! I would love to see a sample image taken with one of these. I love the square format and would be curious to know what the DR of this thing must be. Am I doing the math right that the sensor pitch is 15 um?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dicomed Bigshot

    The actual capture area is 7x10 cm, with a resolution of 6,000 x 7200. I have a sample on my flicker stream (greatly reduced resolution, of course) and a 100% cropped sample.
    The original file is around 125 mb....



    and the 100% cropped area (marked in red)

    (shot was taken with an 80mm Rodagon on a Sinar P)

    Of course you can crop square, I use a self built adapter to use the back on my RB with a 6,000 x 6,000 resolution.

    The big advantage to a scan back is that there is no Bayer Pattern sensor, so you get the actual RGB value for each sensor pixel, the equivalent resolution is claimed to be 135mp, and having upsampled some of the images I have shot, I'm inclined to believe it, at 2x it's still sharper and more detailed than any Bayer Pattern sensor I've ever used.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •