Site Sponsors

Thread: MF ball head for monopod -- just tell me what to buy!

Post Thanks / Like

MF ball head for monopod -- just tell me what to buy!

I am a very happy user of a gitzo monopod with my P1 camera/p45 back.
    This combination has produced great results.

I have a simple one plane of motion swivel mount which I have been meaning to replace with a ball for several years.

Just put me out my misery and tell me which ball mount to get that would be appropriate for the camera weight and for monopod use.

Would like to keep it under $200.

cheers and thanks for the advice.

Eric

Post Thanks / Like

Re: MF ball head for monopod -- just tell me what to buy!

gitzo traveler? I may have answered my own question

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Traveler.html

Ken Tanaka

May I suggest considering the Manfrotto "Joystick" Head? I've been using one with my monopod for several years and find it's one-handed release adjustment particularly good on a monopod.

tetsrfun

I found that the "universal" movement of a ball head was a PITA, especially using heavy gear. I found that the RRS MH-01 is a better option.

Steve

Post Thanks / Like

yes, I was wondering about really right stuff. A friend swears by it for tripod and 35mm gear.
    Just wasn't sure which would be right for MF and monopod.

thanks
    Eric

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by tetsrfun View Post
    I found that the "universal" movement of a ball head was a PITA, especially using heavy gear. I found that the RRS MH-01 is a better option.

Steve
    I have a manfrotto swivel like that now. Does the RRS mount let you turn 90 degrees to the baseplate mount so you can swivel in the other direction? Right now I have to reattach the quick release plate on my camera.

tetsrfun

Quote Originally Posted by faneuil View Post