Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

  1. #1
    Member jdbfreeheel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like

    Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    I'm looking for tips, advice, etc. I just purchased one (mostly as something to play with) to ride shotgun with my Leaf 6II (28mp) back.

    I'm looking for spare batteries too if anyone has any laying around and still hold a charge.

    Josh

  2. #2
    JKunkel
    Guest

    Re: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    Great digital back, but please be aware- I had one for less than a week, was really enjoying using it, but then decided to take infrared photos with it. An internal part broke and shorted the back out when I slid the lever to remove the IR filter, this is a design flaw that I did not know about when I removed it. There is a risk to removing the filter for any reason, even to clean the sensor. Some people have used Kodak backs for years taking IR photos and never had a problem, I was able to do it once. The repair would have cost more than the back was worth, luckily I was able to get credit for it (even in it's damaged state) towards the purchase of a Phase One P20+. Good luck with your back, hopefully it won't have this problem.

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    Awesome back for its time. If Kodak had continued on along with a Contax 645 MK-II, I believe that is what most of us would be using today : -)

    Unfortunately, the batteries are proprietary and extremely difficult to find ... as in nearly impossible. If you find some, snap all of them up.

    -Marc

  4. #4
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    Great back at base ISO.

    1. Use Kodak's Photodesk software with the "custom looks" software add-on. Very fast workflow, and nice profiles.

    2. You can get a Quantum cord that will plug into the Kodak DCS Proback. This will allow you to power the Proback with any compatible Quantum battery (Turbo, TurboSC, Turbo III)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    I use it as an IR back for some time now and am very pleased with the results. I als have a perfect spare not IR used one for Hasselblad H that does not get to come out of the camera case as often as i would like, therefore might sell that one. Comes with 3 batteries and all what was with the original purchase, 26000 shots taken. Great back to use and perfect as a trade in.

  6. #6
    Member jdbfreeheel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    kd - thanks for the Quantum suggestion; hadn't thought of that. I love those battery packs but they add a layer of weight/cables that I'm hoping to avoid. Looks like I'll be contacting Midwest to order me a couple batteries for the time being.

    -Josh

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: Anyone still using a Kodak DCS Pro Digital Back?

    If you have a total flat battery that won't charge again, you always could ask a handyman to replace the cells inside the casing. The battery hangs under the body unlike the phase solution were the battery exactly fits a dedicated space. Even when ductaped or glued together after surgery with power glue, the battery will still fit.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •