Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: HOW DO YOU FOCUS WITH YOUR ALPA

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

HOW DO YOU FOCUS WITH YOUR ALPA

High to all ALPA users .

I am new to ALPA since half a year and would very much like to know :
    How do you ALPA users focus with your camera .
    Does anyone use the ALPA ground glass and the leather type bellow with the loupe ? ? ?
    What is your experience with the method you use ? ? ?

I currently use the HASSELBLAD SWC screen adapter ground glass with the split image ACUTE MATTE , but I think there must be a better way to focus .
    I use only WA lenses and a HASSELBLAD CFV-39 digital back up to now and find focussing not as easy as I expected .

Jürgen

Post Thanks / Like

Re: HOW DO YOU FOCUS WITH YOUR ALPA

jurgen...
    the best is simply to practice on guessed focusing. really, it is not very difficult.
    one trick...
    a normal-size person needs two steps of normal easy-walk to do 1 meter walk. or really easy walk = 1 foot if u prefer feet.
    it most "accuracte" to imagine that u "walk" from camera position to the object in focus. this is good even if u have a good eye mesurement of the distance, because in many cases, the surrounding may be missliding... with doing imaginative steps u get enough accuracy even for medium size distances... and it is very quick to do.
    the "accuracy" in this way is no issue for wide lens, medium distances, optimum aprture

Optechs Digital

Hi Jurgen,

I usually only ever use two methods for focus. Either by estimation or by Ground Glass. I really Use the Ground Glass more for composition than for focus though and I use it with the newer small focus bellows from Alpa. This one is nice because it lets you look at the screen with both eyes or you can stick any focus loupe in it for magnification.