The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Insurance ... how are people here handling this?

Audii-Dudii

With my recent acquisition of a P30+ and Contax 645 system, I now have more camera gear in my house than I can afford to lose. Because I'm an amateur, I don't have access to any pro-oriented group policies, which means I need to either add a rider to my homeowner's policy or find a separate policy that covers just my camera gear. How are people here who are similarly situated handling this? Acquiring minds need to know!

bradhusick

I added a rider to my homeowner policy. It covers all my photo gear. I didn't need to individually itemize, just insure a total dollar amount. I have Fireman's Fund.

S

sblutter

I got an itemized policy - gave them receipts for everything from the last 3 yrs and documented all the old stuff in pics.

$40,000 in equip - cost, about $300/year - State Farm, same people that I have home, car and umbrella policies with

Main thing, all the newer stuff is insured at replacement value, not current used prices.

Lots of Leica / Canon stuff - I travel a lot

fotografz

Sounds like a GetDPI Group Policy opportunity ... hint, hint, Guy and Jack ... :ROTFL:

Here is a cautionary tale ...

First off, I have a bias based on experience ... I think insurance is how the Mob went legit ... and if the trail were followed back, it'd end at Lucky Luciano and Meyer Lansky ;) If not for lobbyists, I think some of these insurance schemes would be deemed "Racketeering". :eek:

I had a rider on my home owners policy which was called "All Inclusive" ... it wasn't all inclusive in the way it implies.