The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Pondering the plunge... Dante's Inferno here I come!

JohnH

I'm telling my 13 year old to learn the Chinese language NOW
Guy - I think that is marvelous advice. I am a software consultant [I was a CPA until 1985, decided to change career], working at the moment in Bangkok. The demand for professionals of any kind with language abilities is very high, especially for Chinese language.

Photography - I put myself though University. Found I was working in my bathroom/darkroom until 3 am or later, with lectures starting at 8 am - decided to go for the degree. Now - some many years later - I am regaining my passion for photography and other creative activities [writing]. So I am due for another career change very soon!

I would recommend a good degree/double degree or post grad, plus the addition of fluency in Chinese. A winning combination.

John

djonesii

Workshop Member
Drop it all, get an Math/CS degree, then MBA, wait till you're 40 to start taking photos, then get a MFDB ..........

Oh, wait a minute, that's what I did:ROTFL:

Pick any of you plans and do it with a passion! I do believe my money spent on university was my best investment ever.

Closely followed by my decision keep jobs that let me travel the world for 15 years rather than be in to corporate rat race.

Happily typed from the staring line on yet another marketing powerpoint from Rat Stable # 715

Dave

jlm

Workshop Member