The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Leica S2 and Hasselblad 110/2 Lens

KurtKamka

Subscriber Member
I just thought that I'd post a link to some shots that I've taken as I'm testing out the S2 this week.

One of the major reasons that I have an interest in the S2 is for the combination of ergonomic design provided by the camera combined with its large sensor. I'm a photographer that likes to make large prints and still wants to pursue hand-held photography and natural lighting as much as possible.

Quite simply, I've been looking for a medium format size sensor in a camera that I can carry around with me most of the time. I want to be able to utilize such a camera in situations where I would have previously taken the M9 or a DSLR. I like the image characteristics a larger sensor provides with a narrower depth of field especially with faster lenses.

Until last summer, I owned a P45+ Phase back and Phase One medium format camera that I had for about 18 months.

While shooting with the P45+ back, I was able to utilize a Hasselblad Zeiss 110mm f2 lens via a third party adapter. It is a lens that I absolutely adore (some would call it the Noctilux of medium format). So when I found out that a third party Hasselblad to S2 adapter was available and that my Leica crack dealer, David, at Dale Photo and Video, just happened to have one (and was willing to lend it to me during my S2 test drive), I was elated.