Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 40 of 40

Thread: Capture One 5.2

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Capture One 5.2

    ... is out.

    It now features LCC based spot removal... which might be another reason to take the white reference shots in the actual scene (and not to use stored LCC files).

    The really great news is for DLSR and Leica M8 / M9 photographers... as LCC is now available for "a large number" of DLSRs and Leica M8/M9.

    Here's the list of updates:

     LCC based dust removal.
     LCC support for Leaf portable files (also used for tethered operation)
     LCC support for large number of DSLR RAW formats.
     Live View support for Leaf backs and Mamiya DM systems.
     Significantly improved tethered performance for Leaf Aptus II series backs.
     Updated firmware for selected Leaf backs and Mamiya DM systems.
     More camera controls supported for some cameras.
     Preferences to disable tethered support based on camera make.
     Color tag in processed file.
     New lens profile for Phase One 35mm lens
     New lens profile for Schneider Kreuznach LS 110mm lens.
     Improved P65+ image quality.
     Improved colors and consistency on a number of Nikon cameras (*)
     Improved tone response in ISO mode L1.0, L0.7 and L0.3 for a number of Nikon cameras (*)
     A number of bug fixes.
    Last edited by thomas; 14th September 2010 at 02:39.

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Awesome Thomas. Looking good too
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    thanks thomas - downloaded and lookin' good.

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Same here downloaded fine will try it later today. Off to a gig
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    >>New lens control for *Phase One* 35mm lens<< ? Hello!!!

    >>Improved P65+ image quality<< ??? Given it was basically off the charts before, that borders on scary!
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    >>Improved P65+ image quality<< ??? Given it was basically off the charts before, that borders on scary!
    as far as I remember every update since the P65+ was released had some IQ improvements mentioned in the release notes of C1 updates... or am I mistaken?
    Maybe just a little tweaking for high ISO images and/or sensor plus mode or so...

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    It's tweaks for long exposure noise reduction. Far better removal of hot pixels. Improvements will be seen in anything over 20-30 seconds at ISO50. Give it a try!

  8. #8
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Awesome news Doug, thanks for the clarification!
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  9. #9
    Senior Member JimCollum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    santa cruz, ca
    Posts
    936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    155

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    just checked.. Live View working for the archaic antiquated Aptus 75S (without having to send it into Phase for a rework)


    Thanks guys!!!!

  10. #10
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by JimCollum View Post
    just checked.. Live View working for the archaic antiquated Aptus 75S (without having to send it into Phase for a rework)
    Thanks guys!!!!
    We don't have a 75s here to test. Can you comment on the quality of the Live View compared to using Leaf Capture?

  11. #11
    Senior Member JimCollum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    santa cruz, ca
    Posts
    936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    155

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    We don't have a 75s here to test. Can you comment on the quality of the Live View compared to using Leaf Capture?
    i'd say pretty similar.. i'll try some low light testing between the two.

    i didn't do any real comparisons.. but my gut is that the iso 400 & 800 has gotten better as well.

    i'll shot a few today, and process them in Leaf Capture vs Capture One and post samples

  12. #12
    Senior Member Steve Hendrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by JimCollum View Post
    i'd say pretty similar.. i'll try some low light testing between the two.

    i didn't do any real comparisons.. but my gut is that the iso 400 & 800 has gotten better as well.

    i'll shot a few today, and process them in Leaf Capture vs Capture One and post samples

    I think what Doug means is the comparison of Live View between the programs, now that C1 supports Live View for Leaf.

    I've felt for some time (probably going back to March/April) that higher ISO detail and, of course, grain pattern and the control of it, was superior in Capture One on the Aptus product line.


    Steve Hendrix
    Steve Hendrix, Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
    Digital Cam: Phase One | Leaf | Leica | Sinar Authorized Reseller
    TechCam: Alpa | Cambo | Arca Swiss | Sinar Authorized Reseller

  13. #13
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    It's tweaks for long exposure noise reduction. Far better removal of hot pixels. Improvements will be seen in anything over 20-30 seconds at ISO50. Give it a try!
    Wonder if that is the case with the P40+ also
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Does anyone know if 5.2 includes the 4GB mem fix of the 5.1beta (for Win 64 bit systems)?

    I could not see it in the notes. I'm DL'ing now but won't be able to install until Friday so it would be great to know this beforehand as I'd prefer not to overwrite 5.1 beta with the fix.

    Thanks

    Mike
    Last edited by mbroomfield; 14th September 2010 at 10:49.

  15. #15
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by mbroomfield View Post
    Does anyone know if 5.2 includes the 4GB mem fix of the 5.1beta (for Win 64 bit systems)?
    Yes

  16. #16
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,800
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    >>New lens control for *Phase One* 35mm lens<< ? Hello!!!
    I momentarily got excited by this one too although it doesn't appear in the lens tool as a D lens, just the same lens presumably as the Mamiya 35/3.5?

    However, the LCC support for Leaf backs makes me a VERY happy camper today. It'll make a huge difference in the workflow for some of us non-Phase users. Just tried the LCC dust removal too - it seems to work pretty well on the 40 images I shot last night, all with the same spots on the sensor!

    I'm intrigued by the improvements for DSLR's as well, in particular the Nikon cameras. It would be great to be able to retire Nikon Capture NX 2 if the color is comparable/better.
    Last edited by GrahamWelland; 14th September 2010 at 11:45.

  17. #17
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    [QUOTE=GrahamWelland;245521]I momentarily got excited by this one too although it doesn't appear in the lens tool as a D lens, just the same lens presumably as the Mamiya 35/3.5?

    ....QUOTE]

    I've heard that Phase is re-working the 35mm as a D series lens. (Not a good year to save money: V grip, LS lenses, T/S lens, and now a 35mm D?)

    Maybe, just maybe....Doug will have some good news on a new 35mm D series at Photokina....


  18. #18
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Wonder if that is the case with the P40+ also
    Yes.

  19. #19
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Lovely. The 120 T/S just about buries a tech cam for me with product work. I can get by with a T/S. Okay Now the price just went up to 12k for one. LOL

    Might just have to get a new 35mm D also. Damn need to scope out a new bank now.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    876
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Great news so far. Now I just want a P65 with a better screen and LV :-P

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Thanks Doug!

  22. #22
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Down loaded late yesterday as I was finishing a project. Need to do some printing today but hope to see what the upgrade will do for me later today. Dwnl'd just fine on the main computer (took just a little over an hr). Now I need to get it on the laptop before I head out to Jackson Hole.

    The P65 is looking better and better ... wait - did I just say that outloud?
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  23. #23
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Don Libby View Post
    ... wait - did I just say that outloud?
    Yes, and everyone heard you! But we knew it was just a question of when!

  24. #24
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Yea you did. Sandy did not hear it though. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  25. #25
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Sandy keeps telling me to use my inside voice

    unrelated to MF however Sandy is now thinking of getting out of Canon and going to a M9 herself...
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  26. #26
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Perfect. Sell her your P45+ !!!

    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  27. #27
    DanClarkWCP
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Newbie Alert!!!
    I'm doing some experimenting on CaptureOne 5.2 with a friend of mine. My Valeo22 is not recognized by 5.2 (no surprise, as it's not listed as supported). With my friend's Aptus17 (no dongle), we can shoot tethered, but can't get Live View, which surprises me a little, since Jim Collum is able to get live video with his Aptus75S, without use of a dongle. Does anyone know if there's something in the "S" models that makes it work without a dongle?

  28. #28
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by DanClarkWCP View Post
    Newbie Alert!!!
    I'm doing some experimenting on CaptureOne 5.2 with a friend of mine. My Valeo22 is not recognized by 5.2 (no surprise, as it's not listed as supported). With my friend's Aptus17 (no dongle), we can shoot tethered, but can't get Live View, which surprises me a little, since Jim Collum is able to get live video with his Aptus75S, without use of a dongle. Does anyone know if there's something in the "S" models that makes it work without a dongle?
    Welcome Dan!

    What camera is your friend's Aptus mounted on?

    Note that Live View will not work if you're using a Contax or a Mamiya 645AFD/II/III/DF type bodies.

    Hope this helps

    Yair
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  29. #29
    DanClarkWCP
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Hi Yair -
    It was on a Digiflex I, and we had chosen that setup in CaptureOne.

    While I'm on the subject of Live Video, what exactly prevents CaptureOne from displaying live video from a D700, for example? Is it something you'd need from Nikon, or something you'd have to decide to implement at the PhaseOne end? I'd love to have one software app that I could use for any & all of our tethered/Live View shooting.

    Dan
    Weinberg-Clark Photography
    www.weinberg-clark.com

  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dallas/Novosibirsk
    Posts
    632
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    What i dont get with 5.2 is that how hard it was to fix long standing bug with broken order of file sorting on Mac for files from 54s (dont see it with ZD files).. i mean it only been around since 5.0... Not like it would take much, and yet its still there

  31. #31
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by DanClarkWCP View Post
    Hi Yair -
    It was on a Digiflex I, and we had chosen that setup in CaptureOne.

    While I'm on the subject of Live Video, what exactly prevents CaptureOne from displaying live video from a D700, for example? Is it something you'd need from Nikon, or something you'd have to decide to implement at the PhaseOne end? I'd love to have one software app that I could use for any & all of our tethered/Live View shooting.

    Dan
    Weinberg-Clark Photography
    www.weinberg-clark.com
    Hi Dan,
    I will have to investigate this one but from memory I think that Live View never worked on the Digiflex (I or II). If it has a B or T modes you can set the back to "Other" or "Large Format" and then it might work.

    Yair
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  32. #32
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by SergeiR View Post
    What i dont get with 5.2 is that how hard it was to fix long standing bug with broken order of file sorting on Mac for files from 54s (dont see it with ZD files).. i mean it only been around since 5.0... Not like it would take much, and yet its still there
    Not familiar with such a bug, any chance you can submit a support case on our website?

    http://www.phaseone.com/en/SupportMain.aspx
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  33. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dallas/Novosibirsk
    Posts
    632
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Yair, there is no place to submit bug report for C1/C1Pro on support page, and if one is to search for "how to submit bug report" - nothing gets returned.

    Mac OS - it was there on Leopard and now on Snow Leopard

    Basically its fairly simple:
    - images imported from CF to hard drive manually (i like to do it by hands, makes my archival structure easier and unified)
    - sessions opened, browsing this directory. Ordering is fine (by name), but some files might miss bits of EXIF readouts
    - session closed.
    - same session reopened.. Bah.. File ordering changed and no amount of trying to get it done by something else and then reorder by name will return original ordering. Its hell of irritation when you got session of dozen of images per set, b/c finding one where you stopped shooting set becomes unbearably slow. Luckily i am not trigger happy, so i am not going through thousands of frames, but still.

    Oh and it doesnt happen to Mamiya RAWs or Nikon RAWs.

  34. #34
    DanClarkWCP
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by yaya View Post
    Hi Dan,
    I will have to investigate this one but from memory I think that Live View never worked on the Digiflex (I or II). If it has a B or T modes you can set the back to "Other" or "Large Format" and then it might work.

    Yair
    Hi Yair -
    No need for you to investigate, we're more than motivated. What bodies are know for good Live View - Mamiya RZ? Hassy V cameras? KaptureGroup TrueWide?

    Dan

    Weinberg-Clark Photography
    www.weinberg-clark.com

  35. #35
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    My Leaf II-5 is tethering to Capture one 5.2 SOOO much better, Live view works supper well, My only irritation with it is that it captures in some all Caps file ending that will not open in Adobe Camera Raw and also doesn't output to DNG... But, will open in ACR when I capture to Card... IDK... other than that its been great to me...
    B-!

  36. #36
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Brett I maybe wrong but what file extension are you using to shoot too. Not sure if you have a option on the Leaf to shoot to a different file extension. Hopefully Yair or Doug see's this and add a suggestion. We do have the guru's hanging out here for this stuff. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  37. #37
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Yeah, that's Why I mentioned it... I spent a few minutes the other day searching menus for options but didn't see any thing that looked like it would change it... it seems like it saves some kind of uncompressed version of the images that other programs don't get along with. The last version on Capture one (5.1) totally killed my back so as long as its not doing that any more. I'm a happy camper!
    B-!

  38. #38
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by SergeiR View Post
    Yair, there is no place to submit bug report for C1/C1Pro on support page, and if one is to search for "how to submit bug report" - nothing gets returned.

    Mac OS - it was there on Leopard and now on Snow Leopard

    Basically its fairly simple:
    - images imported from CF to hard drive manually (i like to do it by hands, makes my archival structure easier and unified)
    - sessions opened, browsing this directory. Ordering is fine (by name), but some files might miss bits of EXIF readouts
    - session closed.
    - same session reopened.. Bah.. File ordering changed and no amount of trying to get it done by something else and then reorder by name will return original ordering. Its hell of irritation when you got session of dozen of images per set, b/c finding one where you stopped shooting set becomes unbearably slow. Luckily i am not trigger happy, so i am not going through thousands of frames, but still.

    Oh and it doesnt happen to Mamiya RAWs or Nikon RAWs.
    Sergei I suspect that there's some sort of corruption in your session so I would suggested moving the files into a new session.

    Regarding the support page you need to press the "Contact Tech Support" button and then you will be able to log in and you will have several options for describing the problem

    BR

    yair

  39. #39
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Brett Moen View Post
    Yeah, that's Why I mentioned it... I spent a few minutes the other day searching menus for options but didn't see any thing that looked like it would change it... it seems like it saves some kind of uncompressed version of the images that other programs don't get along with. The last version on Capture one (5.1) totally killed my back so as long as its not doing that any more. I'm a happy camper!
    B-!
    Hi Brett,

    Currently when shooting tethered there is no option to select a different file format. We are looking into adding it in a future release but there's no time-frame for this.

    If your workflow includes processing in ACR then as a workaround you can convert the files in the Leaf Raw converter or re-save them in Leaf Capture.

    HTH

    Yair
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  40. #40
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by yaya View Post
    Hi Brett,

    Currently when shooting tethered there is no option to select a different file format. We are looking into adding it in a future release but there's no time-frame for this.

    If your workflow includes processing in ACR then as a workaround you can convert the files in the Leaf Raw converter or re-save them in Leaf Capture.

    HTH

    Yair
    Thanks for getting back to me Yair
    That's what I've been doing for some of my images.
    I've been using the color checker passport and found that it makes a nice difference in the images color and contrast But you can't apply the settings in C1 So thats why I've been opening in ACR.
    B-!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •