The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Super-wides in MF land

Hauxon

Hi this is my first post here, been a lurker for a while but feel now is time to speak up. I'm an amateur/semi-pro nature photographer. I mostly shoot landscapes With my Canon 1Ds II and Olympus 18mm f/3.5 Zuiko. I'm pleased with the combo but have been thinking that MF might have something for me. I'm on limited budget, the whole worth of my current gear does probably not exceed $10.000 but I've been able to sell enough prints to cover most of my equipment cost to date. If going the MF route it would have to be the ZD back or something not much more expensive than that.

Now for the dilemma. I think it's hard to evaluate if a 28mm MF lens and a 22mp back would make significant impact on my images instead of my current kit. Unforunately it's not possible to rent MF gear here in Iceland so I can't make comarisons myself.

During the winter light is very low here in Iceland and the back would preferably have to handle long exposures well. My feeling is that the ZD back is not very good at this. The P1 + series is supposed to somewhat better but it's 3x more expensive than the ZD and double the value of all my current gear. Maybe I should wait 1-2 years for used/refurb models to hit ebay??

I know MF gear is not an option for wildlife and would keep my 400/5.6 L and get a used 1DII or 40D to use for birds.

I'm not completly new to medium format since I had a Mamya RZ67 and few lenses but sold it because I felt 50mm were not wide enough on 6x7 (and not wide at all with digital) and didn't have patience for film processing, scanning, printing.