The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Ultra wide suggestions - Tech camera

Terry

The 35.. XL is brilliant, compact and light. I use it without centre filter.

The 24mm XL is a fine lens, but I tend to use it for landscapes (I am an architectural photographer) or on a tall tripod in order to avoid unwanted foregrounds (or I crop).
It is not my most used lens, but it is always in my bag. I have also shot it without a centre filter, there is vignetting obviously, but for certain shots (or in B&W) it has a certain look that is not unpleasant.
Together with the SWA, considering its size and weight, it is infinitely kinder on your back than any Hasselblad/Phase alternative.
The 35 was my first lens and I LOVE :clap: it....the 24 would be for landscapes.

jps

Slightly off topic - has anyone seen the new Rodenstock HR 32W lens?I have one on order - the specs look very impressive with a 90mm image circle.I have a HR28 and it is stellar quality - with respect far better than Mamiya - it has a 70mm circ. so some shift is possible with "smaller" sensors.
The suggestion to move to a larger sensor is not so crazy;)its just a matter of time Terry!:D so with that in mind I would be planning lens purchases to suit.
JOHN

Christopher

Well I have the 32mm, great lens, but I won't say more before i actually had time to shoot more. (First impressions can sometimes be wrong)

steflaurent974

Here are two variants from the same shot. (for an interior panorama) with natural light.

Taken on tripod, ALPA12swa, schneider apodigtar 24mm at F11.
Processed in C1 v6 : no clarity and Presharpening prest.